"Views Before The 6ix" - Before Drake put Toronto on the map... (Podcast/Video/Links)

in #hiphop7 years ago

I don't consider myself a Drake fan, but there's no denying what he's done for the city of Toronto. So to put things into perspective I want to share a Podcast created by some T-Dot Hip Hop vets Big Tweeze & Thrust.

Cropped_Rob_Nelson_Photo.jpgPhoto by Rob Nelson

Their idea was to shine light on the people who set the foundation for artists like Saukrates, Kardinal Offishall and most recently, Drake. As I came from the early 90's era Toronto Hip Hop scene I wanted to share this one Episode in particular because it has deep meaning to me.

In my previous post I mentioned I got into Hip Hop through Bboying in the mid 80's, but it wasn't until 89/90 that I was turned on to Emceeing. I owe it all to DJ X. Every Saturday from 1-4PM DJ X & Thrust hosted The Powermove Show on CKLN 88.1FM. I tuned in religiously every weekend and ended up recording over the only cassette i had too many times until I learned how to record over old cassettes by taping over the broken tabs on the top (I got a whole collection now)

See The Powermove Show Archives here - http://adrienking.com/the-power-move-show/

In this Episode of Views Before The 6, Tweeze and Thrust talk to DJ X about Hip Hop, the legendary show & Toronto Hip Hop History

Here's a bonus clip taken from the website link above Ft a young Mos Def and the brother Thrust on the freestyle.

If you enjoy my posts please do drop me a comment, resteem and follow. I'm new to the community and hope to share a bit of who I am, where I come from, what I've been doing and what's coming up! Much Love!

Sort:  

Congratulations @vandigital! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62410.74
ETH 2445.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67