You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's ARGUE! // IS A DJ CONSIDERED AN ARTIST? IS DJing an ART?

in #hiphop7 years ago (edited)

The original foundation of djing is unquestionable considered art, i.e, scratching, juggling, and etc. Whatever the modern DJ is doing could still be considered art because it's also their responsibility to engage the audience with the appropriate music. Granted the technical aspects may be laughable, but it's still considered art. Whether they succeed or not is a different issue. Hip-hop heads will disagree. I could say the same thing about a lot of "rappers" who are unfortunately still classified as art. I can also say the same thing about those who doodle on toilet paper and those who take photos of mundane scenarios. Skill is not necessarily required to create "art". All objectively a certain degree of art. Subjectively, the majority is not art.

How many times have you heard "that's not hip-hop"? The unfortunate truth is that it is indeed hip-hop, just not under our personal preference and definition of hip-hop. For example, have a listen to "Rapture" by Blondie. Wouldn't that be classified as hip-hop to a certain degree? The same applies to djing.

Sort:  

Hey... I love this comment, it brings some things into focus for me... If I can share, there is a quote it reminds me of... This is part of a story called ten bulls, I inherited this old book from my dad, and it has some dogmatic aspects but the perspectives are underrepresented in my life and that might be why it has such personal value for me. So the part that your comment reminds me of is the segment titled the taming of the bull -- maybe because asking a DJ if she is an artist is like trying to tame the DJ, be she male or female, or undefined... You mentioned this "All objectively a certain degree of art. Subjectively, the majority is not art." Anyways, here is the excerpt : " 5. Taming the Bull -- The rope and whip are necessary, else he might stray off down some dusty road. Being well trained, he becomes naturally gentle. Then, unfettered, he obeys his master. Comment : When one thought arises, another thought follows. When the first thought springs from enlightenment, all subsequent thoughts are true. Through delusion, one makes everything untrue. Delusion is not caused by objectivity; it is the result of subjectivity . Hold the nose ring tight and do not allow even a doubt. " ( 10 Bulls by Kakuan, transcribed by Nyogen Senzaki and Paul Reps, illustrated by Tomikichiro Tokuriki) I guess I wanted to examine these statements closely together to observe the similarity of the subject matter... :)

Excellent quote. Very fitting and relevant. I'm going to have to look into 10 Bulls by Kakuan now. Thanks!

Thanks for your good insights.... those take focus. I dig it

Very good answer. Leaves much to be considered. Thanks for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.63
ETH 3502.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51