The Daily Poorblog: How to Evolve Sound & NoLifeClub (Day 1: 06/01/2018)

in #hiphop7 years ago

So I decided to keep things numbered and shit since I feel I could continue this for a while. So where is my music going?

HOW TO MAKE UNIQUE SONGS WITHOUT MUCH EFFORT BECAUSE YOU WERE AN UNWASHED 17 Y/O VIRGIN WHO COULDN'T BE ARSED TO WATCH A YOUTUBE TUTORIAL ON HOW TO SIDECHAIN.

main-qimg-761bb3097b4d64f61afac2a93fc8e3a1.png

I thought I'd share a little story about how sound is evolved. My main advice to anyone who ever feels like they are trapped in a hole making the same damn song over and over again is just to play about with weird stuff; stuff that isn't necessarily hip-hop or stuff that is really hard to sample for instance.

While I made poortape vol.1 (https://poorkidbeats.bandcamp.com/album/poortape-vol-1) I sampled some song which I definitely didn't forget the name of just now, but anyway it was in 3/4 time. Now normally if shit didn't fit right, I'd just toss another sample that sounds good enough (back then I was lazy). However, I decided to work around the limitations and make a beat in 3/4 time. Here's the beat for starters:

https://poorkidbeats.bandcamp.com/album/poortape-vol-1

I used time stretched claps that give that 'cranking' effects, as well as pitched down hats from some vintage drum kick I found. I find that using lo-fi-esque percussion(triple barreled words are cool) and an incredibly soft but thumpy kick, it gives the illusion that the percussion hats, snares, cowbells or whatever you're throwing on there, sound like they are a part of the original sample. I chopped up the sample with automation to get that wavy effect. At 1/6th time it sounds really spooky when matched up against a 3/4 beat. I'd show some pictures but unfortunately I don't have the sample or drums anymore...it's amazing how much shit I can delete off my computer in only 8 months.

Back when I used to make music, I was lazy and spent VERY little time on stuff, I've only spent more and more time on my production. However...

...just cause you don't have the technical skills and are using very basic techniques, if it has that unique aspect or catchy sample or just something completely original, it doesn't mean you can't make an entertaining track! That's some real encouragement vibes right there straight from the heart to anyone who wants it.

ANOTHER SMALL ANNOUNCEMENT

I might as well plug the guys who introduced me to this wonderful site. NoLifeClub is a discord server absolutely rife with music, comedians, producers, artists and all types of professions. @vibekilla has been nothing but an amazingly supportive owner on the server when it comes to everyone's little successes.

Screenshot-2018-1-6 newlogo png (PNG Image, 1100 × 1100 pixels) - Scaled (59%).png

I will be posting in the steemit tag "nolifeclub" for every post now to represent da squad ya feel me? But in all seriousness check the community out at https://nolifeclub.net/

Will be back tomorrow or the next day for another Daily Poorblog. Since i'm quite new feel free to suggest me some people to follow on steemit since I don't know who's on here and I'm open to reading new things <3

  • poorkid
Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, just one advice, stay positive :)

Very interesting choice of the 1st picture there, the dude clearly did a bad job at being invisible.

dj paris hilton is so independent its unbelievable

AYYYY GOOD JOB TRENDING DUDE <333333333333333333333333

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41