You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's ARGUE! // IS A DJ CONSIDERED AN ARTIST? IS DJing an ART?

in #hiphop7 years ago

I think that depends on what the DJ is doing, if its just playing tunes in front of an audience i would say no, but if he/she is being creative in the way of producing something new, i would say yes. But then again you could also call such a person a producer. :D

Sort:  

EXACTLY...You got it. You would call them a producer...and my thing is...a producer is an artist in my opinion. That was my biggest argument on Facebook. A DJ simply spins records for the most part...Yeah they may switch it up, slow it down, even queue it in at the right time...BUT....where is the creation of a new element within all of this?

Hm i dont know at some point i would say its something new, but thats not easy to specify without having an example to explain it one.

I think turntablism is very much an art!!!
I wannna also stick up for 'real' djs tho, everyone thinks they are a dj, but real ones are few n far between!!! That is def an artform!! By that, I mean those that 'read rooms', those who push the boundries, those that make it a performance and those who are so crafted in what they do, that they create great things!! As a beatmaker, the dj is very much an extension of what I do!!

Just want to pay respect to the real DJs ... Agree few and far between: clarify I am not one of them, at least not the way I consider real DJ to be...but music making is a part of my life, deeply inspired by the different interpretations of old rules for producers, for radio disc jockeys, and as the years progressed, the beat makers and hip hop artists...

"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.63
ETH 3502.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51