Sci-Fi & Hip-Hop: Cannibal Ox- The Cold Vein

in #hiphop7 years ago

It's something I've been wanting to get out on other social media outlets but my peeps wouldn't understand. I was about 14 years old, discovering Hip Hop and it's roots and at the same time taking a big step in life. My future was at stake and depending on how I did in high school, determined where I was going to end up in life. But something in that time took my ears and mind to a whole new level of taste. Something I've never heard before, something in my opinion was out of this world for me. I was listening to a 24/7 Hip Hop radio station to ease my mind off things that was going on in my life at that time. And something caught my attention like never before. When I was young I was always into sci-fi , such as Star Wars, I-robot and many other TV shows and scenery from the future. I came across this song called "Iron Galaxy" from a Hip Hop duo called Cannibal Ox. And when I listened to that song, I imagined just that.... An iron galaxy. Sky scrapers reaching beyond our limits, a city so cold and filled with so much sorrow. But the scenery and it's architecture was so beautiful. Then I did my research on the song and the album it came from. The rest is history from there. I listened to the whole album from "Iron Galaxy" to "Scream Phoenix" and it took me to a epic sci-fi trip through the grimy streets of a futuristic New York City (In which the duo is from). Epic production from EL-P (Run The Jewels, Company Flow) and great deliverance and lyrics from Cannibal Ox (Vast Aire and Vordul Mega who originated from the Atoms Family) it definitely made a huge impact and a cult classic in Hip Hop. To me, nothing has compared since. So if you like Sci-fi and hip hop, or just want to give it a try.. I suggest you, the reader to check it out! Thanks for reading!- Jon

Sort:  

one of the best albums of all times as far as im concerned ............thanks for sharing it

One of the best of all time man pure dopeness we need more Hip Hop on here bro

Thank you so much for your feedback. I'll bring the Ill to steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54