DMC Says Chance The Rapper Is The Closest To Carrying Run-DMC's Torch

in #hiphop7 years ago

During his interview with The Guardian, Darryl “DMC” McDaniels claimed Chance The Rapper was the artist closest to carrying the Run-DMC torch.

“When you look at Hip Hop right now there’s not anybody claiming the mantle of responsibility – don’t use profanity, don’t diss women … You know, Run-DMC, we lived sex, drugs and rock’n’roll, but we never put those images, ideas or concepts in any of our music,” DMC said. “Because we knew there were younger people looking at us! You never heard me rap about the drugs I smoked, the coke I sniffed, the women I had sex with. The closest to it now, I’d say, is probably Chance the Rapper.”

chance.png

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2017/jun/09/run-dmc-darryl-mcdaniels-we-lived-sex-drugs-and-rocknroll-but-not-in-our-music

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76