Solo Trip in Indian Himalayas!

in #himalaya7 years ago

A few months back, I have got infested with the idea of Solo Travelling. Travelling has always been there, something which is close to very core of my being. While looking for the places to visit in India, especially Northern part, I have came across a lot of Solo Travelers’ writings. Their experiences and things they did while on Solo Trip got me interested in the idea of Travelling Solo. Even before this, in any case I was looking for something out of the box, something which can put me out of my comfort zone, to give a change in my usually static IT employee lifestyle.

Being someone who rarely (do not even remember last time when I did) travel in public transport, the idea of being on my own with limited resources on hands went well. I thought, “Right. This could be something which can put me on test and ask for things I would not normally do”. Along with this, being someone who also contemplates a lot, I observed that as a consequence of fast paced lifestyle, gradually I have lost one of the fundamentals of my nature- TRUSTING PEOPLE around. Hence the idea of Solo Trip makes perfect sense in my case. In unfamiliar place, with little information about surroundings and limited resources available, you have no other option but to talk with people around and trust them for whatever they say.

After finishing up with all work and social priorities, February was the month when I could plan this trip. As it being last month of Winter in North India, the weather would be slightly less challenging than middle of the Winter when the Himalayan parts become severely cold. It goes well with my plans as this being my first solo trip and little experience of those regions. Unpropitious events can be factored, if required to do so.

So here was the entire plan. Got my Railway Reservations, the cheapest available bookings. 20th February- I’ll get on ‘Haridwar Mail-Yoga Express: 19031’ from Gandhinagar (Gujarat) at 10:50 AM. Will get on the same train from Haridwar (Uttarakhand) on 27th February at 3:15 PM. In between, no plans at all. Will let the paths lead me.

The one very good thing happened lately was that, I have filled myself with so much positive thoughts about this whole idea that now the worst of the experiences which could happen during the trip does not make me nervous at all. The body and mind both are functioning in sync, open to all sort of circumstances, good or bad. To me, this has been the most important thing any traveler must try to imbibe before planning.
Anyways, Exciting Times Ahead! 🙂

Comments, Suggestions, Edits, Recommendation for new places are Welcome. Thanks!

TBC...

Sort:  

Congratulations @sujalbrahmbhatt! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49