You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A sad death in the hills, and a decision to turn back from danger

in #hiking6 years ago

I'm so sorry for your loss and I hope you are doing ok. I know exactly how you feel! I lost a friend of mine while we were on a mountain rescue training weekend in Snowdonia. He was an extremely experienced mountaineer, it can happen to us all at any time. Being on mountain rescue I see it sometimes, very experienced people who just have a bad day and put the foot in the wrong position or stumble at the wrong time.
Don't stop going into the mountains, Im sure she would want you to keep going out. Stay safe.
Phil

Sort:  

Thanks for your kind words Phil. It has been a very upsetting time. Writing about it and having friends who knew her has definitely helped.
We are planning a charity walk for the MRT group who searched for her. I have so much respect for MRT teams.

Yes, definitely talk about it. I was very lucky to have such a great team of people around me all going through the same thing, I dont think I would have been able to get back to normal without them. So talk, and talk some more, it helps.
Looking forward to hearing how the charity walk goes :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66