Slieve Bearnagh’s Tors

in #hiking8 years ago

I’d always loved being outdoors, in the woods and hills. But for most of my adult life that love had been abstract, a matter of words rather than deeds. But as I came to the end of my forties I realised I lived in a beautiful place, with sea and forest and (small, but in their own way awe-inspiring) mountains all within at most an hour’s drive.

So, on Easter Monday 2014 I kept a promise to myself and my daughter home from university, and climbed into the Mourne mountains for the first time in more than thirty years. We clambered up to the Hares Gap, and once we saw that that hadn’t killed us, we swung down alongside a stream to the edge of Ben Crom reservoir.

After lunch to the sound of water gurgling over the big stones, and not a sinner near us, we trudged to the Mourne Wall along the shoulder of Slieve Bearnagh – the summit was a bit beyond our abilities, why wasn’t I warned how steep these damn hills are?! – and down to the Hare’s Gap again. A great day, surpassing our expectations – even if the sun did burn the nose off me!

A year later, after a more or less serious effort to build my strength and stamina through regular walking, she and I attempted Bearnagh again. This time in rain and low cloud, visibility so poor I feared we were lost at one point - though I’d been practising my map-reading skills too.

My ex-smoker’s lungs were agony. My thighs and calves cramped and spasmed.

But we found our way to the alien landscape of the mountaintop’s tors.

Once we’d caught our breath, we explored the wind-carved granite stacks.

And then down into the vertiginous col between Bearnagh and Slieve Meelmore, glimpsing the Irish Sea through the slowly-clearing cloud. At times, the hillside was so steep we dropped to our backsides and shimmied down the scree.

But finally, sunlight sparkled on the streams that followed the path back to the Hare’s Gap, the riverine Trassey Track, the car, and home.

Sort:  

Definitely agree with other comments about how awesome hiking is. Great photos, some really cool rocks and scenery there, thanks for sharing!

Beautiful pics. I wish I had more time to go on hiking adventures.

I know! But if I've learned anything these last years it's that it's well worth making the time...

Pls do while you can. Time might come when you're unable to and you'll wish you'd have every chance you'd got.

Where would you recommend? (I'm not an athlete :-) so Snowdon is probably out...

Am not either! Snowdon got hiking places for us newbies. Its my friends who are the serious ones who'd taken us to Wales and Scotland. I prefer mild ones.

Similar to Wales. Hiking's the best.

Never been to Wales, I'm ashamed to say!

Well..its there waiting. Ive only been to Snowdonia. Ireland got amazing places to hike in pictures!

all photos are excellent ... specially this --

upvoted ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67