Mount Manaia hiking trail

in #hiking7 years ago

View of Whangarei Harbour from the summit of Mount Manaia
IMG_1470.JPG
Canon PowerShot A810

If you ever find yourself in Whangarei, New New Zealand, the Mount Manaia hiking trail is a great place to visit and see the area. It's a 40minute drive outside of Whangarei center and overlooks the Whangarei Harbour. The trail has a parking area just off the Whangarei Heads Road at the Mt Manaia Club. The trail is fairly easy with a steep ascent and takes about an hour and a half to summit for beginners. It is well used and well looked after path that has steps where it is steep. Most of the trail is shadowed by trees and all that is needed is comfortable walking shoes and a bottle of water. The mountain gets its name from a Maori Cheif called Manaia who lived on the mountain with his people that belonged to the Ngapuhi Tribe.

How the trail looks and the surrounding vegetation
IMG_1464.JPG
Canon PowerShot A810

Sort:  

Looks Beautiful, thanks for sharing.

Wow, stunning photos!!! 😉 So many beautiful places in New Zealand and now I really want to go there myself.

I think you’re one of the people who makes our news feed interesting. Thanks for sharing your wonderful pics!

Thank you. New Zealand is an amazing place to go visit, especially the South Island. Do you know fany good places to go hiking for a few days?

Wooow this nature trail is so beautiful!!! It kinda makes me miss my home, we have lots of nature trails too. And you have a camera that does not disappoint. Good job @madiba. When i visit this place, i'll be sure to go feel and see the flora and fauna there.

Thank you. It definitely is worth a visit. Where is home for you? You have some pretty amazing Photos on your blog.

Hey, thank you @madiba. I reside in Nairobi, Kenya. Yourself?

Close to Johannesburg. South Africa

New Zealand is simply stunning - you are very blessed to live amongst such beauty - enjoy @madiba - upvoted and following you...

I lived in New Zealand for 2 years, it deffinately is an amazing place. I just got back home to South Africa a few months ago.

Beautiful! Upvoted and resteemed ;)
Love your pictures. Will be following you from now on :)

Love the first photo. Being landlocked, I miss the beauty of land meeting water.

I so miss my time traveling. Just stunning scenery!

-:) ok take me along next time pleaseeeeeee

Can't promise anything

Very pretty! Followed!

Awesome pics! Hope I can travel there one day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58906.95
ETH 2310.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46