Hiking up Devil's Peak - Table Mountain

in #hiking7 years ago

Our hike to Devil's Peak started with your journey to the Rhodes Memorial. This is a photo I took of the trees around the little path up the mountain to the memorial. I have published this photo before because the colour scheme of the leave fascinates me.

Rhodes Memorial path.jpg

The hiking trail starts with at the Rhode Memorial. This memorial was created for Cecil John Rhodes who was a British Governor at the Cape and donate his property (Grootte Schuur farm) to the Cape Town munisipality. Part of the property was used to Grootte Schuur Hospital where the first heart transplant was done by Prof. Chris Barnard, the University of Cape Town and the Kirstenbosch Gardens.
Rhodes Memorial.jpg

On route, we walked pass the King's Blockhouse. This is one of three blockhouses the British erected after they conquered the Cape in 1795. The other two are the Queen's Blockhouse, on the Zonnebloem Estate and the Prince of Wales Blockhouse, above present-day De Waal Drive,
Kings Blockhouse.jpg

We then crossed "Knife Edge" which got a steep drop to the one side and a more gradual descent on the other side. If heights are a problem, this route may be difficult.
Devils Peak Ledge.jpg

This is how it looks like when you stand on Devils Peak and look to Table Bay. In the background, you can see Signal Hill and Robben Island. This photo was taken during a different hike and the current one did not give me a nice photo to show this view.
Devils Peak beacon.jpg

Sort:  

I will definitely take this hike when we go to Cape Town again.

NIce post. I also like the leaves on the first photo. Don't think I will make that hike. I am following you now. I am a fellow south African. I do a blog on Love and marriage and other interesting things if you want to follow me @hope777 and my hubby @scotty777

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80