Hiking: Kokohead Crater Stairs

in #hiking7 years ago (edited)

Aloha! I'd like to take you on a quick tour of Koko Crater Stair. It's located at Kokohead District park, on the opposite side of Haunama Bay. On the south side of Oahu. Some might familiar the island with Waikiki or Honolulu. The hike is along an old railroad -type track going up to the crater rim. The assumption is that the track has 1200 rail steps from top to bottom. Personally, I've never counted it, myself. And it is pretty darn steep. IMG_4605.JPG
IMG_4709.JPG
I find it very challenging if I don't go very slow, take it one step at a time., just to catch my breath. Not only is it steep, it can get very warm. I always carry a camelpak with two liter of water; no exception.
Aside from the steepness and the heat, the halfway point present challenges for some people who are afraid of heights. It has about a 15 feet drop and the space between each step are large enough to fall through. Some turn around and go back. Some uses both hands and feet and some do the crab crawl.
IMG_4712.JPG
Because majority of locals uses this trail as a cardio workouts, the last rail step is the finishing line. However for our visiting peeps, that's not quite true if you want to enjoy a 360 degree panaramic view of the valley and the ocean below. IMG_4717.JPG
IMG_4728.JPGIMG_4727.JPGIMG_4724.JPGIMG_4719.JPG
After you are done with the steps, walk to the right, up a dirt road, about 50 steps you will reach the very top. Congratulation! You've made it.
And here are some views from the top

And here are views coming down
IMG_4739.JPGIMG_4738.JPG
I hope this blog give you a better idea of Koko Crater Stairs should you decide to come join us on this beautiful island of Oahu. Please upvote and/or resteem if you feel others might benefit from this. Aloha!

Sort:  

What beauty, I want to breathe

Thank u. I'm glad it puts smiles on your face. Aloha!

Great post! you have me going.. tomorrow possibly!
Up'd and re-steem'd! ;D
Check the other side out next time you are there.
Lanai Lookout just east of the parking lot from the blowhole has an awesome lavachute and amazing ocean weathered shoreline! Cross the road, and go down the side. First dip is the chute, second takes you under the bridge to the ocean edge!
I adventured upon it randomly second day here on the island! ;)
I gotta post about that spot, Asap!

Aloha my friend! Yes, I should but I think I already did that many moons ago. That spot is truly gorgeous. And yes! U should post! Spread some of that beauty around. Oh, here's a secret. I used to hike a lot and do have a Facebook page: 808cavemanchronicles
If u like to check it out. I'm not active on Facebook but Marcus, like a big brother, runs that page. Believe u me! They do some crazy hikes!!! Trust me, I was there 😜😬 Right now, I'm too out of shape to hang with the big dogs. So, baby steps, I start from the beginning, again. Have a great day braddah. Aloha!

Done!
I thought I'd share it with you, because your adventure blogs rock! 😁
It is an easy adventure to do, and it misses ya! Hahaha!
https://steemit.com/hike/@unfaakinreal/hidden-hawaii-lanai-lookout
Tell me what you think! ;) Mahalo!

I love it! It's so beautiful and the map gives it a good reference point. Go for it! Aloha braddah!

woow that looks like heaven !

Good morning! Thank u. Yes, it's beautiful. I'm so thankful for living. Have a great day. Aloha! 😁

Some day I'll complete this hike, I got past the bridge and I was done for. Great Job.

Awesome post, @islandliving! I just went live with a post about Koko Head (I dropped the link below if you want to check it out). Steep, tiring, but more than worth it, don't you think!?

https://steemit.com/adventure/@mindofabeast/hiking-koko-head-crater-trail-or-oahu-hawaii

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81