Preparing meat for 7 days hike.

in #hiking6 years ago

Homemade drytec food.

Next week my family planning a 7-8 days hike. To save weight we dehydrate meat and vegetables. The less to bear the better. The goal is to have backpack at max 15 kg. When drying the food it is a lot of weight to save, and it taste better and are much cheaper than bought drytec food.

Groundbeef

20180725-20180725_061732.jpg
I mix in som breadcrumbs because the ground beef will be softer when it rehydrate. Steak it and let it dry around 8 hours in a dehydrator or oven.

20180725-20180725_063009.jpg
1,2 kg godrundbeef weight 270 g when dried. 2 dinners for five persons. 10 min in water before making a stew with vegetables or similar with rice or mashed potatoes.

20180725-20180725_064244.jpg

20180725-20180725_064437.jpg

I do the same with chicken fillet. 1,6 kg weight ca 370 g when fried and dried. Two dinners.

20180725-20180725_075902.jpg

We have also dehydrated different varieties of vegetables as carrot, broccoli, onion, mushroom, tomatoes, peppers and cauliflower. Vegetables to 4 dinners enough to 5 people weighs less than one kilo and have lot of taste and nutrients.
Bon Apetit

Best regards
Harald

Sort:  

Do you have any estimate of the calorie to weight ratio of these meals? If you can exceed 100 Calories per ounce, you're in good company.

I will say, these dehydrated meats look healthier and less processed than my usual ultralight grub. @trang and I will have to try this out for our upcoming thru hike of the John Muir Trail.

My english may come very to short to give a good answer. I use only fresh vegetables and they have the same calories and nutrients as fresh. Only the water is taken away. To store meat (don't get harsh) it must be as little fat as possible. The ground beef has 5% fat, 240 calories pr 100 gram (3,5 ounce). After frying I rinse in hot water to get the fat away. The chicken have I only fried in a pan and dried, calories as fresh. We will also have beef steak, with as little fat as possible (only water is taken away). I have oil/butter with me when hike to get fat. Other than that it have the same calories as fresh food.

I have also dried potatoes in slices, mashed potatoes, dried rice (cooked first an ready to eat at 5 min.) and pasta. Im not an expert but as far as I know the nutritional value is as fresh. You will need a stove/pirmus to heat the food. In the morning we use oats porridge with dehydrated milk and butter. At lunch some snacks, crispbread with nutella :-), cheese on tube and so on. Homemade are not worse than dinner you by ready to put in hot water, but way much better. Maybe not a good answer, but I think the calorie to weight ratio is good. I have used this kind of food earlier on hikes and managed very well during the day :-) Tell if the answer is very unclear and not understandable....

John Muir Trail will be a great experience. 3 weeks on hike if I am correct, and only the track, backpack and nothing else to think about. That is vacation :-)

@harkar these do look delicious! We won't have the luxury of bringing a stove but we'll do our best. According to your pre-post weight, assuming zero calories lost during cooking, I would estimate about 200 Calories per ounce for the chicken breast, which is amazing! However, this is likely an overestimation due to the calories lost in fat when drying. Still, great technique and I'm sure much healthier than what Daniel will make us eat on the JMT!

@dhimmel This post makes me want to ask my mom to send us some chà bông like this which are basically extremely dehydrated pork to bring on our hike:
image.png

Hello. Here is a side you may cantake a look at. You can also make or by beef jerky. You will not have acsess to oven,primus during 3 weeks? Only cold food?😊
https://www.backpackingchef.com/dehydrating-vegetables.html

Posted using Partiko Android

Takk for tipset! dette skal prøves til neste tur!

Det anbefales, kjøpe grønnsaker når det er billig å tørke. Kjekt å supplere med i hverdagen også. Finnes en god del om temaet på nett, men bare spør om det er noe du lurer på, kanskje jeg kan svare....:-)

Takk for det :) skal gi beskjed om det er noe jeg lurer på.

Flott post, veldig inspirerende, jeg tror vi må skaffe oss en slik dehydrator 😊👍

Ja det skal dere bare gjøre :-)

Interesting article, I want to try too. This is new for me. Thanks for the nice article!

Your welcome, if you search the web on dehydrate you will find a articles, also on youtube. A great way to preserve food.

Спасибо!

If I can be to any help, just ask :-)

This was wonderful information. I own a dehydrator but I never thought about using it to preserve food for a long journey. Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Then you have to try👍🏻 I saw you use Partiko and checked it and now trying it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

My son just told me about Steempeak too. He is an artist and says that it is very useful for people with a lot of images. I just installed it in my laptop, but I haven’t checked to see if there is an app for my telephone yet. It is very impressive on the laptop.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great tip. I shall check it out also. Thank you :-)

Thank you for an inspiring post :) I’m looking forward to follow your hiking adventure :D

yes I'm looking forward to the hike :-)

Wishing you nice weather for your hike.

Thank you very much, hoping for not to much rain. :-)

This sounds like it's going to be a fantastic trip and the food preparation is great, thanks for sharing and have a safe trip. look forward to the pictures

Thank you very much. Leaving on Tuesday nest week :-)

This is really interesting, it would taste a lot better homemade. 7-8 day hike, thats huge, I hope we'll get to see some pictures in your posts😁

It is great chance for that ;-)

I get more and more exited for the trip now when the preparations has started :D

Yes it wil be great😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95