You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ulog 19: Serious Bagging in Glen Etive

in #hiking6 years ago

I love the idea of Munro. It makes you want to go out and reach the top of as many mountains as you can in the shortest time possible. Congratulations on doing three in one day. To me it looks like it was pretty tough, especially with those steep sides and slippery roads. You must have feel great after reaching the last one. It's always such a big achievements when I stand on a top of a mountain.

I hope that you will reach your 100 very soon! Good luck and fingers crossed!

Sort:  

Thanks @delishtreats! That's exactly why I love Munro-bagging, because it does take you to places you might never go otherwise. It was a very tough day, but fantastic too. I know someone who did their final Munro (there are 282!) the Saturday before last, and then last Saturday she did it again, because she intends to do them all over again, with her previous last Munro being the first one this time! It's addictive :)

Wow! She is quite persistent :) 282 is really a lot. How many can you do in one weekend? I'm just calculating how long it might take to finish it...

It totally depends on your fitness - also some of these mountains are easier to climb than others. There's a challenge called Ramsay's Round, where fell runners compete to do the highest number of Munros in a day. I think the record is 23 Munros in 24 hours, or something crazy like that! Some people do all 282 Munros in three months. There's a really nice film on YouTube about a guy who did this. But I don't think it would be much fun. I prefer to savour the experience! Ideally I'd like to finish mine (known as "compleating") in 2020.
I also have a friend who did 157 Munros in a year, because she was so desperate to get them all done. She did loads of them in terrible weather, without seeing the views... she is an amazing tough lady though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32