Hiking in Red Rock Canyon - Calico Hills I

in #hiking6 years ago

Today the weather is beautiful in Las Vegas! The sun is shining with a slightly cool breeze. Even though the temperature is in the mid 60s, it feels like it’s in the high 70s! Doesn’t feel like winter at all.

All the more reason to go hiking!

image

Red Rock Canyon is one of the more prominent areas for hiking around Las Vegas. It’s about 40 or so minutes outside the strip and boasts beautiful views, canyons and mountains of varying kinds.

image

image

image

It’s a 13 mile scenic drive to make it through the entire Red Rock Canyon. Many people turned out of all ages to take advantage of the great weather and scenery. I actually spotted some people rock-climbing. See if you can spot any rock climbers in the pics

image

image

image

image

@jsmilez in attendance!!

image

image

image

Of course I had to get a few shots of myself

image

image

image

Since the weather has been cold I haven’t hiked since about October but it felt refreshing to get out there today. I love being in nature!

I hope everyone is having a blessed Sunday 😇!

Sort:  

This must have been a trip! The way the layers in the rock behind @jsmilez break up and down into each other looks mesmerizing!

Yes it was amazing! There were many different paths you could take. I was surprised to see some of the low and high areas that other people made it too.

Yall fit right in out there. I miss being out there. My wife and I actually camped out there back in October.

How did y’all enjoy camping out here? Me and my boyfriend, @jsmilez were just at a sporting good store on Saturday and I got inspired to want to go camping. I’ve only gone camping once and that was years ago in Texas.

It was crazy fun and even though it was right outside the city it was pretty quiet. The wind was crazy one of the nights we were there but other than that it was dope and super chill.

Sounds dope minus the wind, lol. And it’s good y’all didn’t decide to go camping during summer. Did y’all encounter any wildlife while camping out there?

Nope not at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62