Bushwacking In Borea

in #hiking7 years ago

20180131_150321.jpg

Lately I have been pushing outside the limits of designated trails, and just following game trails and my instincts.

Yesterday, I had the truck in order to do errands, and I decided to indulge in a quick hike. I didn't have much time and it was pretty warm for a full sun walk, so I did a little cyberhiking on google earth.

Screenshot_20180201-081420.jpg When I saw the fan palm, I knew there would be water.

I loaded up my dog and headed for the Daley Canyon trail entrance. It begins with a dappled meadow full of eucalyptus trees and birdsong.

20180131_142556.jpg Eucalyptus trees love Southern California!

Borea Canyon is super dry and sandy. There is a little chaparral clinging to the craggy sides, but it burns down often.

20180131_154232.jpg Looking north up Borea Canyon towards the Strawberry Creek Lookout Tower on the rim above.

I spotted a pretty little coyote who sprinted across the riverbed and disappeared on the ridge above. Luckily, Brisket didn't give chase. He was absorbed in following his nose. Spoor is heavy on any game trail leading to a drink of water. We continued up as the walls of the canyon narrowed into a gulch--and I crashed awkwardly through the willows.

20180131_145748.jpg Brisket relishes the nice, cool stream on an 82F day.

The ravine was pretty well choked by the thick vegetation, so we didn't quite make it to the fan palm, which I assume to indicate the origin of the spring. It does have a use trail bombing down the embankment from Daley Canyon Road, though, so visiting it later is still on my agenda.

Instead, we climbed the eastern embankment and wandered up another little canyon folded into the hills.

20180131_152749.jpg Sunglazed grasslands, looking toward Little Sand Canyon Truck Trail.

20180131_152332.jpg Sacred White Sage

20180131_151657.jpg I am entering Abandoned Shit Weekly #ASWContest with this scene of a discarded grocery cart left to fend for itself.

Screenshot_20180201-082435.jpg

Yep, I pretty much just wandered around aimlessly on this hike. Sometimes you just have to go where you feel like it, and let other people follow the trails and the tracks. Feels like freedom.

Thanks for joining me! Have a beautiful day, and know that you were born free!

#walkwithme

Love,Cat
@creationofcare

Here's my previous #walkwithme post about Daley Canyon https://steemit.com/walkwithme/@creationofcare/walkwithme-in-daley-canyon

Sort:  

Sounds like your day was so much fun! Even your pup enjoyed it!

It's so relaxing to just meander. Much love

I sure enjoy your hikes and photos ❤
If you ever see a pictoglyph with a oxhide
ingot shape let me know! :-)
I missed seeing your photo on the moss till
yesterday, awaiting your abandoned one lol
I often look at google earth to see what is
around to go see.
The areas you go to are so pretty and so
many different things to see and hear, wildlife,
shacks, mines, rocks, ancient messages carved
in stone, water and a pup 🐶

I sure do enjoy having you along for the adventure!

California has so much variety to offer, as you note. I want to see it all, and share my love for this amazing state.

I had to look up oxhide ingots, I have never heard of those before. The Native Americans here in Southern California did not do any metalwork prior to Contact. But the ingot shape is abstract, so there may be a 'glyph or 'graph out there that resembles one. I know there are a lot of Yoni symbols in San Diego county, though. Hehe.

<3

I am a fan of you, I have not walked like this for a long time.. this is freedom..🙆

I am so glad! Humans are free!!! Much love.

Another impressive #walkwithme #CreationOfCare! <3 <3 <3 You live in such a gorgeous part of the world!

I really appreciate your generous attention to my walkabouts, because having San Bernardino get called "such a gorgeous part of the world" is so very uplifting to a denizen of blight!!! All my best to you and yours

You're so welcome, you bring a whole lot of lovely to the tag! <3 <3 Really impressive blogging!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56