You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF21 - What the Fork?

in #hf215 years ago

Been thinking about this. I love Steemit or at least the idea of it. I do notice the lack of development, not from Dapps per say, but from Steemit itself. I don’t know how, but I just feel it could be better.

Competition? Voice? Interesting name, since a lot of people think their voices are being silenced on other social media platforms. Which I agree with them, YouTube algorithms seems to have silenced my voice and all I was talking about was Lego. Their constantly changing algorithms made it hard for smaller content producers to thrive. When at the beginning all you needed was good content and you could get views. I digress!

I welcome competition, maybe Voice will have what I think is missing from Steemit. Whatever that is. One thing that any social media platform need is adoption. More users needed!

For years I had an Instagram, YouTube, Twitter, so it would be no problem having a Steemit and a Voice account at the same time. In the end I would love to see a crypto currency social media platform thrive. Which ever one it happens to be. (I also see a lot of bitter Steemit users, who invested a lot into steem. If let’s say the voice becomes popular)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I agree that Steem could be much better, but unfortunately I also don't know how to make it better. Probably by drawing some inspiration from Reddit, which is somehow similar, but way more popular.

About YouTube: the whole platform got way more professional as it grew. Just compare a typical video on YouTube today with one from ten years ago. Back then everything was very amateurish and low-quality (in terms of production value, not in terms of content). The problem with the professionalisation is, that it favours big media outlets, who have the capacities to create content with a high production value. I think, that the recommender algorithm also favours big media outlets, probably not even on purpose, but just because their videos get a lot of views and are made by a verified creator, which are indicators the algorithm uses to recommend their videos to others.

Voice is a curious case, I'm interessted to see, how this turns out. Even though I was a bit disappointed when it was announced: block.one build up so much hype and the big announcement was something that everybody saw kind of coming already.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66