You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem HF21 Review - Reject 2e12

in #hf215 years ago

Excellent post. Thank you. It’s giving me a lot to think about. You did a great job of putting the proposed changes into common language for those of us who need some of this stuff to be pre-digested for us. 😆

@simplymike, see if you think this post helps answer your questions.

Sort:  

Thanks for the tag, @jayna. But it is still to much for my non-technical brain to grasp

I just think this is too many changes all at once and difficult for folks to understand.

@abitcoinskeptic, I think you couldn't be more right.

I didn't get all of it (I think I'm just a lost case when it comes to understand these technical things), but at least you managed to make a couple of things more clear.

To deal with the 2e12 curve we will need 16 Steem before rewards are the same as before which is 320000sp.

Is this for real? Sounds like the bots are going to be busy again.

I don't get what they are trying to do? No, that's not right, I do. They're pushing people towards investing. All those small accounts who are fighting to survive every day, because they simply can't afford to invest, will be punished again.I thought they were killing their own platform after HF20, but HF21 will be a real genocide...

It makes me so sad, and like I stated in my post earlier this week: I'm not sure if i want to play their game anymore. But I don't want to think about leaving everyone here behind. Now way!
If only there was a different place and everyone would want to move with me....

To put it another way, if you have a dolphin with 5000 SP giving you a 100% vote, you would need 64 of them to get up to 16 Steem. There are only 2500 or so accounts that big but with 10X full votes a day. In any case, I'm sure 90% of them have no interest in engaging with me.

The dolphins and orcas will always do well, I see the steemit in crowd doing well, I see the art/music/creative writing communities surviving and thriving like usual. And like you said, people who find a niche or move.

I think palnet is worth trying out. I'm tagging it and it seems much more fair. I can bid a post up to like 150 Steem (that's only like a 15 Steem profit for me) and it is worth 4 pal where something I bid up to 50 Steem is worth 7 pal, so the metrics are much more rational. They base it more on engagement and obviously know the bots to rule out.

My guess is I will figure out how to game it without doing stuff that definitely gets flagged. I like experimenting and taking risks. I'll share my strategy. Actually, I look forward to it.

My guess is I will figure out how to game it without doing stuff that definitely gets flagged.

Maybe that kind of mentality is one of the reasons for the downtrend.

Hate the game not the player.

Although, you are right. Ideally it becomes undesirable to game. Free flags will being down the tolerance level as more are dolled out. I

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm tagging palnet too. People say curation rewards are better there, but with the low amount of PAL I have, I need to vote at 100%, which depletes my VP on temIt to much. I don't like that both are connected.

My guess is I will figure out how to game it without doing stuff that definitely gets flagged. I like experimenting and taking risks. I'll share my strategy. Actually, I look forward to it.

Only half an hour ago I was saying to someone that some people were probably already making plans to game the new system, and here you are, lol.

I don't have the insights to figure out myself how to game it, but I do like the gaming part 😉

I found the same thing about palnet. I sold all of my initial PAL (for 4X lower than it is now). However, I do enjoy starting from the beginning. It's just a shame I won't be earning anything from curating for several months. It seems stable and practical now, but I do wonder what will happen when there are 100 million of them in circulation and several whales popup.

I've already read several posts from people who think the new changes are just going to make bid bot strategies even more powerful. It seems the free downvotes are a possible defense. However, some of these bid bots have 5 million Steem Power behind them which is a large deterrent for downvoting people simply because they use the service.
I do see the category for "bidbot abuse" perhaps getting more strict and powerful, but people who put in sincere effort will be allowed to use them for the time being. Perhaps, it will make bidbots like ocdb become the norm which would be great. A few of them I've come across have zero standards and basically, ignore all criticism. Maybe downvotes will make them behave (they are going to be more reliant on curation now), or atleast the delegators swich out.
I read one post that said this EIP was strictly for whales, developers, and witnesses.

A few of them I've come across have zero standards and basically, ignore all criticism. Maybe downvotes will make them behave (they are going to be more reliant on curation now), or atleast the delegators swich out.

I think that would only come true in fairy tales.
Like you say, they're so powerful and there will always be a truckload of money to be made, so I don't really see that change...

It is quite difficult to understand. Imagining the combined effects is even more difficult. That's why I think they should slowly do it over time. It's a little overkill in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45