You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 21 - Steem Proposal System (SPS) + Economic Improvement Proposal (EIP)

in #hf215 years ago

Some of these changes would move us closer to the business model over on PublishOx, specifically the change in payout balance between curation and creation. I appreciate the efforts to keep innovating for improvement on this chain, and want to be 100% gungho about a proposal that seems like it can get implemented toward that end, but my experience with PublishOx makes me doubtful.

On POx everyone starts as only a curator, so the emphasis is definitely on earning from curation. I don't think they even have bidbots yet, or a trending page. You have to apply to become a content creator. But you know, I just can't get myself to use that site.

Why? Because it takes me more time to read several low payout articles to get to a certain curation reward than to write one and get a mid-sized reward I can expect for my quality content. Plus sometimes I get to the end of a post and realize it doesn't deserve my upvote, but I still invested that time. I know the time I invest in creating content is well spent. That is within my control.

I think the behavior of shifting rewards from authors to curators will make authors feel more insecure about payouts for their time, while quickly showing them that the time it will now take reading in order to earn the same total payouts on the platform is simply more time than they want to invest. So what we're really counting on is that more people can be attracted to the platform as content consumers who want to buy STEEM to increase their rewards for reading. To me that's a harder sell than attracting people who want to buy STEEM to increase their rewards for sharing writing, photos, videos, etc. Creators are already more proactive and involved than consumers, which is a more passive stance. Buying STEEM (even just learning how) may require more initiative than the passive consumer really has.

Of course, my priorities may make me an outlier, and maybe in general something different could be expected. We can look at how PublishOx winds up performing for a preview.

I like others would like to see a less severe payout shift, to see if it does in fact start moving the stats in the right direction. I would also like to see the elimination of the Trending page, which I think will make bidbots irrelevant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73