You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF21 - What the Fork?

in #hf215 years ago

Excellent. What a wise insight. In deed, learning is such a process as you describe it. Blogging certainly helps.

Oh, now I also know what you meant by skin in the game. I was taken in by the wiki article that used the word "idiots" too often.

That's right. People act strange when they get something for free. They seem to value it less or even treat it badly. Sometimes people come to my free social services that act as if I have to cover all areas of knowledge and are very impertinent. If they had to pay directly for my service, their behaviour might be more appropriate. But that is not a good comparison. The health insurance comparison is better. Statutorily insured people don't realize how expensive their treatments are because they never get a bill presented. They have no skin in the game. Only indirectly via the contributions on their pay slips. But the connection is no longer immediate. I got it.

But there are also people who do this well and behave as if they have skin in the game, because they know exactly that someone always pays something that they get for free.

Your thesis sounds very interesting. Do something on your blog in any case. I hope I will understand your content and answer you appropriately.

Sort:  

Continuing in English here, since we started it in English 😁

Oh, now I also know what you meant by skin in the game. I was taken in by the wiki article that used the word "idiots" too often.

Taleb is someone who well, "er nimmt sich kein Blatt vor den Mund" (ok, it's best explained using a German idiom), just see what he writes on Twitter, to get an idea of what I mean: https://twitter.com/nntaleb
But at the same time, I have to say that I consider him to be a wise and honest man, probably also because he is confronting and therefore causing controversy.

Your thesis sounds very interesting. Do something on your blog in any case. I hope I will understand your content and answer you appropriately.

I think (hope) that it is a topic, we are going to hear a lot more of, because it not only has potential to progress AI in sensitive, but important areas like medicine, it also has the potential to break the data monopolies of the big tech companies.
But for now, I have to make sense of it for myself first.

I am totally confused by that twitter thing. Never used it. Unfamiliar space. I left facebook quite a while ago. Here, the speed of back and forth communicating is much slower. I like that.

Controversy ... hm ... not sure if that is something to be pushed. It's a word used a lot.

Breaking the data monopolies sounds interesting. You think the forces will eventually even out a little more with the technology of AI? Let's hear more about that.

Breaking the data monopolies sounds interesting. You think the forces will eventually even out a little more with the technology of AI? Let's hear more about that.

Right now we, the users, exchange all of our data for a "free" service. We get to use a platform and the company running that platform gets all of our data in exchange and uses this for analysing its users. Data is valuable and who controls it makes a lot of money. All those centralised platforms tend to acquire a lot of data, a lot of money and therefore a lot of power.
The domain I'm working on allows users to provide their data for training of machine-learning models, but while keeping their privacy. If you think this further along this line and add what blockchain technology can bring to the table, we could imagine a future where the people can not only chose which kind of personal data they are contributing (ideally while still maintaining their privacy), but also get financially compensated for contributing data. This would be a paradigm shift, since the big tech companies have to share the profits, they make from their users' data.

I talked about exactly this topic with my man. Right now I am too tired to remember what he said though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63