The Fork In Retrospect: At First I was Afraid, But Now I See The Light

in #hf206 years ago

zxzxutq5vh.png
Source

Like any good story, this one starts out with strong emotions.
And when HF20 hit me I had some, strong and mixed, which I guess is best expressed through song!

At first, I was afraid I seriously was petrified!!!
Thinking I could never live with RC's at my side!!
And I spent so many nights thinking how Ned and Dan did me wrong!!
And I grew strong!!!
And I learnt how to get along!!!

And Now I'm Back, Taking Up Space

Adding my two cents trying to dominate at in the blockchain race! Thinking back now I should have made more effort before, I should have written more stupid post. If I knew for just one second, these guys were gonna close the door!

Done with the singing, I promise

I must admit that the first week was tough. I, like most users, was on complete lockdown and couldn't do much. This felt like the end of it all, and some users have still not made a comeback!

We complained, they listened - which is excellent because come on, how often does the man listen to our complaints? As soon as they deployed some changes, things started looking up again. And we could do a little more!

And you know what, the change is different, but it's not all bad! As I began to reintegrating back into the chain, I noticed some positive outcome!

And Just Like My Singing, The Fork Was Not All Bad

1. Users Started Being More Generous:

With all the tantrums and the complaints, many users gave up entirely and took to selling up and shipping out. But the ones that remained started working harder to help existing accounts retain themselves! I'm a pretty small account, but I've been getting blessing from all over. From free steem to SP leased on my behalf - from users, I don't know and some I didn't even realise they knew I existed. But generosity was shown, and not just to me!

2. Quality Over Quantity

With the whole rage against shit posts and comments, quality content was always pushed and rewarded in the Steemiverse! Shit posts and comments were often ignored, flagged or mocked. But for the last bit or so, I guess my account has been getting a bit more traction; I noticed an increase in shit comments.

To me, a shit comment does not have to short and add no value. Comments could also be long, tedious and make no fucking sense at all. And to be quite Frank, I noticed these getting worse and worse as users started to get more and more desperate to dominate in @abh12345's Engagement league.

For those of you not familiar with the league, it rewards participants for being active and engaging on steemit! The more words and characters you could push out in the week, teh stronger your chances are of dominating. But the quality of these comments is not considered. People would make threads go on and on and on and on like a bad conversation you are just dying to leave, but they wouldn't because it was helping them up their anti! I might get a lot of flack for this, but I don't really care, because well its true.

But with Resource Credits being introduced, users are so much more careful how they are spending their mana. It kind of added a new edge to the blockchain, it's more like a game now, which is brilliant! Users won't waste their lives and will work on a carefully more meticulous strategy as opposed to just vomiting out a painful bunch of words that others are forced to encounter!

Not only has RC's curbed bots, but they have curbed manual spammers disguising themselves as quality writers! It might have been poorly implemented at first, but they fixed the issue and all in all I think it was a brilliant mood! In fact, I think it's so brilliant that the concept should be implemented on WhatsApp so people can stop forwarding useless shit!

But that's just my 2 cents for the day. You can love it or you can hate, but at least I can expect more quality feedback!!

Have a good day and make good choices

And if you like what you read, feel free to upvote, comment and resteem!

Much Love From Sunny Cape Town, @mimismartypants

P.S. How do you like my new banner? courtesy of @dreemsteem and designed by @Liberty-Minded

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the steem love!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup.

A shame I can't quantify 'quality' eh.

I'm always thinking about new ways o score, but unless each comment is being read and assessed, it's going to be tricky. Any thoughts?

That's the thing it's really hard to access quality on such a large scale. This was in no way taking a shot at what you doing but rather pointing out abuse of participants.

We could maybe look at rewards for comments or average thread length to flag potential spammers. But that too would need manual review and are not feasible solutions.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @mimismartypants!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.222 which ranks you at #20096 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 112 places in the last three days (old rank 20208).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 181 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00