Come On People, Where Are Your Posts?

in #hf206 years ago

42936202_10156475038322367_3705542129079025664_n

My Voting Mana is already over 55% and I'm back in business. My RC mana is fully charged already and it recharges very quickly. Fellow Minnows, no reason to stop posting and upvoting as usual. Are any of you Redfish or Plankton having problems any longer?

Sort:  

I've just been lazy the past few days, I swear, nothing to do with the forking. So I tell myself at least :D

Plankton here -- the new patch should have brought enough RC's for most folks, enough to start actively posting and voting to be sure. A few of us took a break during the downtime, I gather not everyone is back yet.

And even then I had to go catch up with quite a few posts and reply to comments. Still in the middle of that process :) Even after a short break it takes time to get back into the swing of things.

Mehn, it's been a hard day. I was so frustrated with Steem and I thought of giving up seeing some people with huge sp getting to post with me not been able to do so o even comment.

I think people are just pissed right now and it reflects on the posting

I've been roaming some interesting places and shooting pics. However, I'm putting off making long-form photography posts until the mood has normalized here. It would be a shame to have such high-effort posts ignored.

HF20 hasn't been that big of a disruption in the end, but the lack of warning or a clear time-frame (feedback was "please wait") did sour some people. But I'm willing to bet that we didn't lose any of the dedicated guard -- I am even getting more than a few responses to comments posted just before HF20 hit.

I just shared visual stats on my account from Pablo, go and check them out

First of all, thank you for pointing me in the direction of Penguin Pablo stats & tools -- useful stuff!

Yeah, the dropoff in activity has certainly been massive, a visible one -- you don't even need to consult the stats to get a feel for it. The recovery will move slowly and we will likely see another patch or two.
The amount of total RC's for small accounts is certainly higher now, but the recovery rate is still abysmal. If more changes aren't made, I'd wager we could even see a more significant drop in the price of STEEM -- to a level where smaller third-world accounts can start conceivably accumulating SP through pure cash injections.

I don't think the price will move much. It's pretty much controlled by Bitcoin and the general altcoin markets. But yes, growth is key. But have you considered how much of the traffic has been spam and auto-comments by bidbots?

Posted using Partiko Android

Well it feels like Bitcoin determines long-term direction for the market, but in the short-term any booms and busts are determined by on-chain events -- like the ETH collapse because of the ICO outflow or the current XRP boom on the inflow of positive coverage. That said, Steem's PoS-like system limits its speculative bust potential -- if the downward slide does happen it's more likely to be a natural response to the needs of the chain overall, much like the RC system itself.
According to the latest stats from pp post\vote counts have already recovered to around half of pre-HF20, including bots. I gather that if any bots will be truly affected by the wipeout, it will mostly be bottom-feeders. From what I understand they're more likely to be affected by Voting Mana and not RC's?

Now the effect of RC's on spam of all sorts, inconsequential comments or posts from low-value accounts has been dramatic and not unpleasant, to be frank. Even if I'm to work with severe limitations (a maximum of ~4 daily comments or posts at the current RC recovery rate), I'd rather learn to manurer in tight corners than wade through a sea of guff. That's a personal opinion of course.

In the end the RC recovery rate will determine how much posting the witnesses are willing to tolerate from plankton. Having posts and comments share the same RC requirement may not be the optimal choice, but on the blockchain itself there's not a lot of difference between 'em, I suppose. The balancing act continues, we'll see how it goes.

Well I never left but am glad they did give us a vacation

due to system restore , the process of posting was interrupted. Hope It is resolved now and the process will go smooth gain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09