You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Entry for the Pay-it-Forward Curation Contest - Week 26 ... then Boom! ... HF20 ...

in #hf206 years ago

howdy there sir roleerob! what a great post and so full of information to think about. I agree and am a little suspicious and wary but will see what the changes bring as the new program re-configures.

A witness last night said that it would take a week to a month to totally re-configure so we'll see how it goes.
thanks for the great post!

Sort:  

Good evening @janton. Great to have a visit from the Champ! 👍

"I agree and am a little suspicious and wary but will see what the changes bring as the new program re-configures"

Right there with you! After 5 days "in a holding pattern," I'm back to posting and "engaged," so will be watching closely over the coming days and weeks.

Glad you found the post to be of some value @janton. Thanks again for stopping by! 😊

howdy again sir roleerob! yes sir I did and that video with Ned as the Furer or however you spell that, as Hitler, was so funny! so thanks for that recommendation.

And thanks for doing what you do to help others with the pifc!
I salute you sir!
oh, there's something else too..you mentioned that you are in charge of billing and such for an electric company? What about the Smart meters that everyone on steemit are so upset about? are they really part of a conspiracy to spy on people or control people?

Up before 🌄 @janton and, yes, that video was the humor highlight of my Steem "journey," so far. Although, there have certainly been some other funny items I have seen. I enjoy good humor. Seems to be in short supply these days, though, as what passes for humor too often now is definitely not funny to me.

"What about the Smart meters that everyone on steemit are so upset about? are they really part of a conspiracy to spy on people or control people?"

Oh no! You're on to us! Our plan for total world domination has been exposed!! 😧 How did you find out? Have you been spying on us? 😉

Seriously, I don't know where people come up with this stuff. Worse, why others believe it?

These meters are pretty simple digital devices. They have very limited memory capacity, unless you buy more expensive models, which are used at industrial sites. It is all about capturing data measuring the flow of energy through each "service point." They don't have enough memory to even store pictures, let alone video clips or whatever else these people are saying. And, they are installed outside people's homes ...

The units of measure vary, depending on what is needed and the expense of the model. The most common, for billing purposes, is the total amount of energy consumed during each billing period, in kWH (kilowatt-hours), and the greatest amount of energy consumed at any one point in time - called demand, in units of kW (kilowatts). Both are vital bits of info, not only for billing, but very important by the producers of electricity. They must get the sizing of all the big plants producing electricity right to ensure we never "go dark," to the best of their ability ...

I am going to start my own rumor. If people want to be concerned about someone spying on them, then go after Google and their Nest "smart" thermostats they try to get you to purchase and install inside your home. So what data are they gathering and sending "to the cloud," for Google's internal purposes? While you're "out on the curation trail," Champ, pass that one along ... 😉 👍

sir roleerob! Oh I'm so glad that I found out you were in the electric supply business, if that's a correct way to say it, so this could be explained to me. lol.

Ok that makes me feel better and one more thing I won't have to be concerned about. I have no idea if they are installing those in Texas or not, I suppose it's all over because it will help provide the right amount of juice and make the distribution much more efficient.
So we need them everywhere!
And basically you could say that "outside is good, inside is bad" when talking about the meters right? Especially if google has anything to do with it.
Thanks so much for your help sir roleerob!

Hi @janton. There are two basic benefits of these new "smart grid" meters, to the average consumer:

  1. Keeps costs low, as a "truck roll" is no longer required to read your meter. AND it saves costs due to accuracy of the readings. In the "old days," human error in getting all of these readings manually entered was significant ...

  2. Even then, you had exactly ONE reading for your billing period. Now, the meter is automatically read (varies) on avg. every 30 minutes. That is now ~ 1,440 readings a month, so you can go online and better manage your consumption to keep your bill low ...

Glad to help! It's my "day job" ...😏

Posted using Partiko Android

sir roleerob! how interesting... but I like the truck roll, it kept someone in a job! lol. No I'm just teasing, I just wanted to be able to use that phrase because I think it's a neat one.

I think I'll go on a truck roll tomorrow of my own making! ha!
anyway thanks for filling that in with all the benefits, that is really nice that customers can go online and see all the stats about their usage and such. No more human errors or misreadings, less angry customers calling your company too!
sounds like a win win to me. thank you sir!

Right with you @janton. Hard to beat a good "truck roll!" 👍

It's a great day, for this Steemian, when my old Ford Ranger takes me for a "roll" up into the high country. Particularly, when it's over a 4-wd road that gets me away out more or less on my own ... 😉

Hope you have (are having) a good "truck roll" yourself today!

Posted using Partiko Android

sir roleerob! hey are you at work today?
So you are in Colorado and you have places up in the mountains that you can "escape" to? That sounds so amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54