You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I think HF20 has gone as expected. Now, it depends what your expectations were.

in #hf206 years ago

I mentioned the glitches too. I was expecting them. Not these in particular. To be honest, if these are the only issues after hard forking we are way better than I had expected.

I tend to agree with the opinion expressed by others that major updates should be hard forked separately, otherwise there is the possibility there could be conflicts and unintended influences between them that are more difficult to test and catch.

Maybe the next hardfork should be focused on one thing alone.

I also heard the opinion that exchanges don't want to have too much work to update the code after a hardfork, especially since Steem is not yet a top crypto, and they might choose to unlist Steem if hardforks are too often. Not really sure what to say about that.

From my information, very few witnesses are really capable to audit the blockchain code created by Steemit. That needs to change (and we need to know who the witnesses with these capabilities - and willingness - are)!

I still think HF20 went on as expected, if nothing else is found broken.

The issues with depleted voting mana and negative RCs are simply too minor incidents, to not consider HF20 a success. It remains to be seen how RC system stabilization goes, there might be some concerns there for small accounts. If the whole incidents would have lasted 1 hour instead of several days, no one would have even mentioned it. Patience and staying positive, as you said, and everything will be ok.

I'm sorry for retracting my vote for your witness! I'm considering giving it to someone I liked during this hardfork. But nothing is final. If I like your future projects as a witness, you might have the vote back. Since I have already voted 30 witnesses, any change I make automatically means another witness loses (at least temporarily) my vote.

Sort:  

I'd like to invite you to the witness steem.chat room so you can see the other issues we're facing. The end user doesn't typically get to see everything going on. But if you really want to learn more, join us: https://steem.chat/channel/witness

We've been very busy with this hardfork. I personally have been going through troves of discussions, staying up to date with parameter settings and patches, and getting an overall feel of what has taken place with this hardfork. For instance, we just learned that the account creation fee didn't update for all witnesses like it was supposed to, so we're updating that now.

Again, didn't go as planned. And for a social media platform it's vital that we do major testing on the testnet prior to updating the network. Imagine if Facebook went down (and you weren't able to post/comment), but they updated their code "successfully". Would that be a success? I highly doubt it. We have to hold ourselves to higher standards. And I know we can do that. But we can't pretend things went smoothly.

I guess I could pretend everything went smoothly and post a bunch of hype to gain more votes as a witness, but I'd rather see our platform succeed in the long-term.

I am watching witness channels carefully. Haven't joined, since I am not a witness, and I don't think my presence there would help.

Yes I saw about the account fee issue. And I saw the one-row solution too.

I don't think we should go on the discussion centralized versus decentralized, pluses and minuses.

I'm glad we both want Steem to succeed on the long term.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62