You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just A Thought... On Artificial Scarcity

in #hf206 years ago

Considering I'm trying to make dapps that exist entirely on the blockchain, HF20 helps me out a lot in this respect.

If I can lace Discussions with the code instead of having it run on a centralized server I can force the users of Steem to post a lot of comments.

HF20 RCs reduced the comment limitation from 20 seconds to 3 seconds, so almost everything about HF20 is a good thing if I can make dapps that people actually want to use.

And honestly, I don't think the scarcity is artificial. I think if every account on Steem was posting as much info as they could to the blockchain it would crash everything. HF20 might prevent something like this from happening.

Sort:  

I understand the reasoning behind constraining resources on the blockchain since blockchains have to store so much information, but some have taken this measure to prevent uncontrollable growth as a positive when it really is a net neutral activity at best for the ordinary blockchain novice.

Like you mention, this scarcity is a good thing IF you deliver a product that people actually want to use. I don't think any application on the blockchain has really gotten to that point yet. I would love to see one that changes my mind, but so far a large majority of services lack mass-market appeal and I'm not seeing how constraining your resources is really going to appeal to folks that at the moment have 0 STEEM.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61