F-U HF20

in #hf206 years ago

What a Crock of 💩


Hello Steemit friends.

I am SUPER frustrated by the implementation and aftermath of Hardfork 20, and suspect I am not alone. So here are few rambling thoughts.


  1. I am not going to post, comment or upvote after this until at least October 1. My resource credits and vote power are in the shitter. Rather than being frustrated every day I am going to let both refill to at least 90% before I am back on Steemit.

  2. I am still reading my feed, looking at comments, and am always lurking around discord. If you’ve tagged me in a post (@ladybug146) or made a comment that deserves a response (@stokjockey), and you haven’t heard back, it’s not that I don’t love you. ☺️ It’s just.... FUCKING Resource Credits.

  3. I have joined three other sites like Steemit. Weku per a recommendation of @ladybug146, Trybe per @vgholdingsllc and Narrative per @summertooth. User namer on all three is dfinney. Other than making accounts, I have done nothing on any of these sites. However, come say hi if you are there too. (That is if you can figure out how any of the three work... 😂) Weku is 100% a Steemit rip off/clone so you would think that would be the easiest, but the search function isn’t great.

  4. I know so many Steemit people are anti old school social media.... 😂 But if you fancy a chat while Steemit resets, DM me at dfinney74 on Instagram.


Now for my hardfork rant.

Rendering Steemit essentially useless for a week is BS. A lot of people have been frustrated by the platform generally the past couple of months. Many users have already left Steemit. A void exists in their absence. I worry all of this HF20 nonsense is the final nail in the coffin for other great Steemians. Steemit is nothing without the people who make it entertaining. When the company makes choices that drive those people away.... BIG MISTAKE.

Continuing with the nonsense.... look at this. In particular the bit I have circled.

79AE60BE-69DF-455D-94E9-98B97F85BC00.jpeg

Steemit has always limited your ability to vote (until of course you get a slider at 500SP). One way to circumnavigate this limitation is by making comments. I comment ALOT. But more importantly comments is how you connect and make friends. Judging from the resource credit bar making comments is going to drain your bandwidth. Right now I only have enough RC to make 16 comments. Combine commenting with voting, with making a substantial photo and word filled post I suspect I am going to have RC bandwidth problems ALL THE TIME. I seriously hope I am wrong, but it’s not looking promising. What is the point of a platform where you can’t interact with one another in a meaningful way?

Another thing that is SUCKING now is delegations. I am not alone in having a time sensitive delegation. I won a 500SP delegation from @raybrockman for the month of September. Now I can’t even take advantage of this in the last week of the month. It has been great to shower other deserving Steemians with bigger upvotes/more upvotes than my personal SP allows. Curration money has been lost for a ton of people due to the Steemit lock out we are all experiencing.

People are also losing money on community upvote subscriptions. As a member of #steemsilvergold I can either delegate or pay steem (or a combo) to receive a vote from our community’s bot. This vote varies in proportion to the delegation. Last month I paid a portion of my subscription in steem. This money is lost because I don’t have the Resource credits to post and because the bot doesn’t have the VP or resource credits to vote. This also applies to other subscription services like @rewards-pool and @silver-hammer. And I know some people don’t appreciate these services, but the money and SP they generate end up back in the platform because as users build their own accounts they have a greater ability to support everyone else on the platform with delegations to initiatives like @curie and @minnowbooster.

Vote trails are going to crap themselves. Right now I have a delegation which means at full RC and VP I would be able to vote 99 times a day before emptying my account. The less SP I have in my account the less I can vote, or comment, or post... so lower SP users will have to remove themselves from vote trails and delegations to protect their own ability to function on Steemit. This creates a circle of failure where Steemians can’t support one another to succeed or grow the platform.

I hope I am wrong in my pessimism. I ended up on Steemit really on a fluke. I have no crypto currency other than steem. I can’t imagine powering down because any money I have here was earned via time, not from investing any fiat into the platform. I use Facebook and Instagram and all the mainstream sites regularly and happily so am not looking to the blockchain to protect me from “The Man”. But.... I have met some really cool people here. And some crazy people. And people who’s views on politics and money are 100% opposite to mine. And these people are great. I love interacting with them and if steemit shits itself great communities are going to die in the process and that makes me sad.

Anyway Steemit friends, I am here but will be lurking only this week while things reset. Hope things settle in a positive way next week.

❌⭕️


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold
4DFCEA51-19F0-43AC-8233-C4A25C4B1B74.jpeg
4912D728-2E71-4DA2-B77A-779C5F5F1F6E.jpeg
A6F57F86-96F1-4EED-8A0E-9852BCE4DE11.png
D6F0ED37-5E8D-42A0-AB70-947CE2EB0BC1.png
D093BCE4-01C8-4440-B4AF-30C935C45BA8.png

Sort:  

If you power-up with the SP you receive from your posts or comments, you have a reasonable increase of your Voting Power. I don't know if the RC is affected...

I saw what you did. That was the bravest 2 cents anyone's ever given me.

You earned em! This hardfork rolled out in a really crap way and no mainstream business would survive such nonsense. And what you said about steem communities in other countries was something I hadn’t thought of and your words really rang true.

Relax, I can extend your delegation five days to make up for the downtime.

Thank you. Ray had also mentioned your extension. Very kind.

Don't worry we know you are not leaving us behind, we were all in the same boat and you really didn't miss much. This place was like a ghost town. I cast one vote and it drained my vp like there is no tomorrow. The bandwidth issue really sucked tho but it will be better from here on out. Things will be back to normal soon enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85