Herps of Mississippi

in #herpetology7 years ago

Beach.jpg
When I was in Mississippi over the summer of 2015 doing the fieldwork for my Master's thesis in biology, I first began to herp. Herping is a verb used by bionerds to mean "go out (usually at night) and look for reptiles and amphibians." I was just becoming exposed to herping, and so didn't go out at night, but I do have pictures of some pretty amazing animals. Warning: some of the pictures are blurry!


First let me set the scene. I was on the coast of Mississippi and didn't put much effort at all into herping as I was still a certified newbie at this point. Here's a panorama I took at sunset of one of the fishing piers I frequented while picking up sea turtles for rehabilitation:
IMG_3054.JPG


Alright, enough scenic pictures. On to the herps. I have to start with a sea turtle, specifically, a Kemp's ridley. I'm not going to go into any more detail in this post. As my study species, I of course have so much to say about them that I will have to create a series of posts solely dedicated to this marvelous, charismatic, critically endangered species.
IMG_3276.JPG

Kemp's Ridley Sea Turtle, Lepidochelys kempii.


If you've ever been down south, here is one of the most common herps you'll ever encounter. They can be sighted on almost every horizontal or vertical surface, and are not particularly afraid of humans.
IMG_3057.JPG

Green Anole, Anolis carolinensis


Here is a beautiful snake, a black racer. This species can grow up to 3-5 feet in length, and the taxonomy of the Coluber constrictor complex is contentious. This particular racer was probably 3 feet in length. I'll give the subspecies name, even though subspecies aren't really a thing!
Black_racer_Coluber_constrictor.jpg

Southern Black Racer, Coluber constrictor priapus


Here is a herp, but herpetologists and ornithologists don't usually call them herps! Yes, birds are reptiles, and dinosaurs too! They're actually Theropods, which also includes none other than T. rex. This particular dinosaur is a blue heron.
Blue_heron_Ardia_herodias.jpg

Great Blue Heron, Ardia herodias


Now, on to my favorite category of herps: turtles. Because, of course, I like turtles! This is a beautiful Diamondback terrapin that saw its population decimated by overharvesting in the 1900s because they were considered a delicacy. Their numbers have rebounded and they are now classified as lower risk or near threatened. I have a particular affinity for Diamondback terrapins, because they eat a lot of the same species and inhabit the same nearshore waters that my studies species, the Kemp's ridley, do.
Diamondback_terrapin_Malaclemys_terrapin.jpg

Diamondback Terrapin, Malaclemys terrapin


I have to end with a non-herp, and more specifically, an insect, because I would be remiss if I didn't mention that most animal diversity comes in the form of insects. Also, this is a particularly beautiful and non-threatening bug, the katydid.
Katydid.jpg


Part II of Mississippi Herps coming soon. I think I'm going to switch between states for my herps posts, so stay tuned if you like pictures of amphibians and reptiles!

Sort:  

Soul_Eater_43 The Cryptofiend tweeted @ 28 Feb 2017 - 00:57 UTC

Herps of #Mississippi@Steemit

steemit.com/herpetology/@n… / https://t.co/AufQ5NhkQa

#reptiles #photography

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thanks! I am on twitter although I don't post much if any herp-related content there. My handle is @5m4ug

Cool thanks :) BTW how did you find Steemit?

I don't remember the specific article that led me to steemit, but I was clicking away, following links until I ended up at this article: https://steemit.com/terrorism/@larkenrose/what-muslims-believe. And then I wondered what steemit was, and I've been here since :)

That's quite a tour of wildlife! How could anyone not like that Diamonback terrapin? What a smile! And those Great Blue Herons sure sound like a primitive creature, lol! Aaaaaagghghg!

Stay tuned for more wild wildlife! :)

Yay! Herp on! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74