You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking Heroic Risks

in #hero7 years ago

OpenLedger's Steem and SBD gateways were down at the same time as withdrawals were unavailable Poloniex. They took a day or two longer to get back up.

Sort:  

It's a good thing everything is recorded... They've manipulated the market.

Are you referring to Polo, or OL? Or both?

Well, polo. But it would seem that anyone who has "Routine Server Maintenance" during a brutal downswing in the market is probably cheating somehow too.
That would mean Bittrex too for a time.

Strange that everything just keeps ticking along fine on this end but those guys cant keep their steem wallets running.

But what I really want to know is why these guys all have so much steem parked in their steemit wallets. I realize that I am pretty dense, so I don't expect all the details, but for Polo to have 21 million steem sitting here is a mystery to me. I thought they took possession of all the coins that they exchange? It would seem to me that their entire steem market on their end could be paper, until such time as someone wants to actually transfer it somewhere.
And at that time, their wallet is broken.

I think it is BS and a ponzi scheme. They love the liquidity that steem gives them, until someone actually wants to sell into a market collapse.

It would seem to me that their entire steem market on their end could be paper, until such time as someone wants to actually transfer it somewhere.
And at that time, their wallet is broken.

That is an enormous red flag that calls their solvency into question. Hopefully they are just manipulating the market (and probably speculating with customer funds in the process), but I believe to those of us who traded on Mt.Gox once upon a time (I can only really speak for myself, but I imagine this is the case) find their shenanigans quite worrying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57459.91
ETH 2436.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38