Elder Flowers

in #herbs5 years ago

There's an old saying in England that goes something like this - 'if a village has an Elder tree nearby, nobody needs to be sick'.

That's a big claim, but as every part of the Elder tree has medicinal uses in herbalism, it's easy to see where it came from.

The picture is a close up of a cluster of Elder flowers. They're my favourite part of the tree, they're beautiful and one of the best cold remedies.

Taken as a hot tea as soon as you sense the first signs of a cold or sore throat approaching, they will kick up a sweat and kick the cold right out of your body. I like a little honey with mine.

You can use the flowers fresh or dried for the same effect.

The only problem with using the flowers is that you don't get as many berries. They have their own medicinal qualities, which I'll cover in a post soon.

image

This is #originalwork. The pics or videos were taken by yours truly.


20181127_191251.jpg


ghscollective_logo-01-1-2-1.png


image

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I love elderflowers. I use them to make a non alcoholic fermented lemonade type of drink out of them each season; just flowers, lemons and a bit of sugar in water, left in the sun for 3-4 days and you get a nice lightly carbed drink.

I'm going to try that this afternoon!

For a second I was thinking where can you find flowers at this time?! hehe, and then I saw your location. Lemme know how it turned out!

The joys of an international platform...

How interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80