LSD...Witches...and herbalism!

in #herbalism7 years ago

LSD. Over 400 times. She talks to the plants. They share their gifts. This is my kind of woman. Susun Weed is a special breed. She is the grandmother I always wanted to have. (I still adore my 3 grannies!) My Grandmother Karen actually gave me my first Susun Weed book. I had it signed by them both. This book in part shaped me to be the healer that I am.

Back in 2014, I had the honor of visiting Susun at her homestead in New York. I was there to attend an Intensive Herbal Workshop. She shared her love of burdock with a group of about 10 of us. We harvested it and processed a few roots. Being in her presence is quiet literally a trip. One moment she is humming the next she is screaming. Never a dull moment. I have always admired her for being the person who revived a form of herbalism called The Wise Woman Way. Her methods are simple and effective. Focus on nourishment. Add vitality to the body. Herbal infusions on the daily.

As I talked with Susun I shared with her my plans for the night. I was headed to COSM (Alex and Allyson Grey's House and Art Gallery) for a Full Moon Celebration. Guess what she said?!? Susun chuckled and recanted that she and Allyson were old friends. They used to get weird ;) and head out into the forest to get even weirder. They tripped together. My mouth dropped. Two women that I greatly admire started their path to awesomeness together!! It truly is a SMALL world! To read more about Susun and her wild life see the Vice article below.

20171210_093612.jpg

Read the full Vice article on Susun Weed here: https://broadly.vice.com/en_us/article/kzgbge/susun-weed-profile-stressweek2017

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cassiopeia to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Oh this is so fantastic on So Many Levels! Susun Weed is one Of my favorite herbalists and has shed so much light on my path!!! This little backstory is So Much to me :) glad to Be connected here and share in herbal lore and wondrousness!

I know, right! Truly a fascinating story.

I'm a big fan of Susan Weed I used her book "Herbs for the Childbearing Years" during and after my pregnancies. How luck you are to have met her, thanks for sharing your story. x

That is a wonderful book as well! Thank you for reading my story.

Thank you for this wonderful story. Susun Weed is so wonderful.

The more I learn about herbalism, the more I realize that plant medicine (tripping?) can be apart of a learning process. It was for centuries before people deemed it "bad". I think plants have given us these gifts to help us communicate with them, and the world around us that is clouded by our idea or perception of "reality". I think this is really cool to learn about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73