My Apothecary - Labrador Tea

in #herbal6 years ago

I have decided that Mondays I will be sharing My Apothecary.
I have been foraging for plants for many years, and I have decided to share what I have been collecting.
This is also helping me get everything catalogued and organized. Seems like a win win for everyone!

Please know that I do not sell my remedies, and I am not a doctor. My advice is to research everything. We should always be mindful in what we do to heal our vessels, our body. Many of these remedies are good for the spirit to. We are all spiritual beings, the plants are just and connected to mother earth as we are. Even more so.

It is very important to honour all beings, with respect and love. There have been times that I have gone to pick medicines, and I have heard NO. I offer the tobacco and give thanks for the wisdom.

20180115_152301.png

20180115_152048.png

Benefits of Labrador Tea:

• Coughs.
• Sore throat.
• Lung/chest infections.
• Diarrhea.
• Kidney problems.
• Rheumatism/arthritis/inflammatory conditions.
• Headaches.
• Cancer.
• Skin problems ( eczema, psoriasis) when applied directly.

This was one of the first plants that I learned when I moved up here. It is a staple for us. I often compliment it with chaga, pearly, or even my regular tea in the morning.
Labrador tea is a very strong medicine. I caution the dosage amounts, and be very mindful if you are pregnant.
When I harvest this fabulous medicine, I have actually heard NO, because the growth rate of this plant is slow, pick only a few leaves from each plant rather than completely harvesting leaves from individual plants. There are patches that I simply do not tell others about. I am very protective of her.

When harvesting, there is a plant that is very similar, be very careful. It is a toxic plant. Labrador tea has a fuzzy texture under the leaves. Make sure that you know your plants. Once you know, she is easy to find. Please harvest responsibly.

I cannot encourage you enough to have a strong relationship with the plants and animals around you.

20180421_101603.jpg

I have used dried and tea.

Dried
I pick the plants around 10 am. After the dew and moisture are off the plants. I hang them upside down in small bunches to dry in a warm area out of the sun. You could also use a dehydrator.

Tea
Using fresh or dried flowers/stems/leaves, lightly crush and add to boiled water. Let steep for desired time. Teas are good for internally. I also use strong teas for baths, compresses, and washes.

Looking forward to hearing your comments and stories.
Everyone has the knowledge to their path of well being.

Sort:  

Great post, we have lots of Labrador Tea around here.
You say you use strong teas for baths, what are the benefits of that?
Like a detox? Would you add epsom salts to that bath as well?

Its a beautiful medicine! I do make a stronger tea for baths. It will keep in the fridge for a few days. I use that when colds or flus hit the house. It is like a detox. The skin is the largest body organ. It feels good. the energy of the plants is very soothing. I use epsom salt often. I would think you could add that to the water as well. It is high in magnesium. I would read up on it, the effects might be different for you!
Thank you so much for your support on these blogs, it means alot to me! xoxo

Thanks so much for starting this series @earthmother- always interested in how I can utilize the local flora around me, instead of forking over big bucks for synthesized suppliments or worst pills from uncle pharma :/

I am so with you there sister!! Take back our power! Come back in touch with Mother Earth. she has everything we need to live and thrive. We have somehow forgotten that!
Thank you so much for stopping by! I really like doing these blogs. Gives me a chance to give back!

Will be looking forward to catching them for sure! - Anything to bring that reminder back- lately my cure-all for everything has been turmeric, it's worked better for my skin than nearly any store bought product after a year of awful awful hormonal acne- just about finding balance!

that is awesome!!! are you growing your own? it is very easy to grow :) makes a great houseplant! Its awesome to hear that you have found your go to plant!!! :) So smiling over here!!

Haha no way! I had no idea it could be grown indoors! Gotta look into that

Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. Your post is helping people learn to survive and thrive now and in the future!

Thank you so much for helping me get this out there!! I am really loving these blogs. it is my hope that people can use them, and become familiar with the medicines around them!! Huge love to all!

You are very welcome. The whole reason I started the sotall account was as a curation account to bring all the great knowledge people are sharing into a directory where everyone can find it long after the post pays out. You have been posting some GREAT info since I found you.

I will have to check it out!! Thank you for sharing!! This is fabulous!!

I love this plant. I can only use it in very small amounts. I find that each plant interacts somewhat differently with each individual. I always start with small amounts and see how it feels.

Labrador tea is a very strong, powerful plant. I love your approach! I agree with you. Know the plants. Every year i pick a few plants to learn. I have been looking at my shelves and i have learned over 100 plants so far. This excites me that I can help myself and my family. It is my hope that everyone can do this!

You just reminded me that it's monday! LOL This one is interesting as it seems to have an evil twin sister. You girls look so great there. Avia was so little! Oh my! Give hugs to her from us ok, and to you too! xx

Boy, am i behind in commenting! LOL
Huge hugs to you...hopefully we can get out soon...get together!

When I was in Saskatchewan in winter of 2016, some of the indigenous people there called it 'swamp tea'. Thought I would just share that.

yes!! i think it has been called trappers tea too :) pretty awesome stuff! Do you have it near you?

Oh yes. We have lots of it here.

Another new one for me! I love that you are sharing your wisdom on Mondays! I look forward to learning more.

Spreading the LOVE! huge hugs my sister!

Congratulations @earthmother! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05