Gabchik Henna. Elbetitsa With Swastika

in #henna6 years ago

This is a henna design I did on myself some time ago.

It depicts two types of crossed crosses - the elbetitsa and the swastika. Among the many interpretations their common one is "Be (+) Happy (x)". It is like the intention is being locked with the turning of the cross.

The elbetitsa is something I love to do with henna, as it breaks the common designs and is inspired by the Bulgarian folklore. If you want to learn more about it, check out an old post I did about it here.

What is your favorite symbol and what does it symbolizes?

Sort:  

I don't know if I have ever chosen a favorite symbol...you made me think on this one. ;)

One of my favorite lessons I used to teach to my art club kids was one on Aboriginal bark painting which incorporates many symbols. One that I am drawn to has three wavy lines stacked on top of each other which represents water / flow. At the moment, I am very focused on flow and the allowing of myself to remain moving within it.

beautiful work , i like henna designs , i also did on my friend's body months ago ,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81