How I am training myself to be ambidextrous with Henna !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #henna8 years ago (edited)

Non dominant becoming dominant

Oh, henna.
It just inspires me so much. Every time I do henna on my left hand, I feel like my right hand deserves henna as well.
This way of thinking has led me into pushing myself and try to use my non dominant hand (left) so I could have both hands adorned.

The journey

I have to admit that using my left hand to do henna on myself is very very difficult. My hand has to get used to all the muscle memory that gets involved when applying henna with a cone, and it takes way longer than hennaing myself with my dominant hand. The design that I am sharing today took me 45 mins to do with my leftie, it would have taken me about 20 mins to do this with my right hand.
I literal think it's awesome to be able to have both hands adorned with henna, and that's the main reason that I started doing this, but since I've started I figure something else: using my other hand opens my mind, to a different level of creativity.
I've been practicing writing with my left hand, and doing other activities with it such as cooking or washing the dishes. And I love doing this, because it feels to me like I'm reprogramming myself, in a way.

Right hand, decorated with my non dominant hand

I figured that I could also share with you guys what I am wearing on my left hand too.

Left hand, decorated with my dominant hand.

As you can tell, both hennas look different in color, and that is because when the henna is applied it looks almosty black, and then it leaves a maroon stain on the skin that lasts from 1- 3 weeks.

Practice, practice, practice

I first started practicing with my left hand last year. I only do it when I am calm and relaxed, because it takes me longer and I do not want to get frustrated at myself if I mess it up
This picture below, shows one of my first henna designs with my left hand .

Have you tried to become ambidextrous? I would love to read about your journey!

Thank you for reading my post!

Blessings!!!


Follow me

Steemit: @danilamarilu
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/hennabydanila/
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKf99gBH2riVBaiFRclrMPQ


Henna and Photography by @danilamarilu & @ballinconscious
Banner: "100% SP" Image Credit: @stephen.king989 -

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47