You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Udayan -A Small School With Big Aspirations!!!

in #hendrix22lovesyou6 years ago (edited)

Thank you for bringing this wonderful story to our attention. I am more than happy to donate for this beautiful school. The caste system in India is archaic to say the least and it is hard to believe it can still exist in modern times. I praise the efforts of all those involved so far.
How many pairs of shoes are needed and how far is it to the nearest shoe shop? Let me know the cost of driving the kids to the shop and getting them all shoes. Thank you

Sort:  

As far as archaic practices of castism are concerned, I'm Ashamed to admit that yes it is true. Though times are changing , slowly and gradually.

The faster the better - nothing short of the government passing a bill that removes the system once and for all. - I meditate for change. 💛

Hello @sallybeth23. The number of enrolled kids is close to 25. However because their parents are poor so they don't get to attend the school on a regular basis.

Sometimes parents want helping hands in the fields and thus kids don't appear in the school at all for weeks.

As of now, they've a minimum of 20 kids who are attending school.

The nearest shop is close by (within 50kilometers/30miles and if we were to add up driving and transportation cost along with the cost price of shoes, it'll come around (₹300+₹ 10000 = $206 in all)

But whatever little we manage would be great.
Thank you very much for your support.

Thanks so much for the information. So 206 US dollars is equivalent to about 30sbd . If I transfer 30 steem dollars do you think that will achieve the goal? It would make an amazing steemit post to see the kids going for a trip to the shoe shop. 🌈 I will transfer to hendrix22lovesyou in your name. Just confirm this amount is correct. 💛💛💛 and get the shop keeper to give discount on a bulk buy haha

Thank you very much for keeping faith on a total stranger. As far as getting them kids to the shoe shop is concerned, I will have to speak to Ajit Singh. Just give me some time so that I discuss it with him and update you.

Ok that sounds awesome, thank you

I had a word with him. Shoes and blankets have been taken care of as the winter planning was going on for quite some time and they managed to arrange funds for this winter season.

However, as told to me by Ajit singh over telephone, Udayan School would appreciate people sending in money for food of kids.

That is great news they have shoes and blankets. Please spend my donation on food in that case. Thank you so much for your help. 💛

Also I was told that the school is running at full strength these days which has grown to huge 80 kids owing to harsh winters. Kids spend a great deal of time at school because of the heating system which isn't available at their place sadly. So now they're looking for food arrangements for the next 3 months.

That is excellent that more children are receiving help at the school now. I am happy my donation be spent on whatever the children need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43