Where's all the webcomic artists? An introduction to Bake Break, and how we came to Steemit

in #hemp8 years ago

Welcome to Bake Break, the Steemit exclusive satire #webcomic for all stoners and non-stoners, tree-huggers and muggles alike. The comic is a translation of the Finnish cult classic Kyhäritie.

For 7 years of my life, I lived in the city of Suomenchikago, Finland, surrounded by pot smoke and lovable hippies of all shapes and sizes. I even shared an apartment with many such fine folk, and I shall never forget the mountains of unwashed dishes, unpaid bills, and overflowing ashtrays. Endless parties, booming with reggae and bad rap music, with the smell of beer and pot were the cornerstones of my life. And the fruit flies... Oh how I miss the little buggers! Since then I have quit the use of any mind altering substances, but I will always remember those social circles with love. Great times!

One night in our dirty apartment in Suomenchikago, I started to draw cartoon caricatures of some of my friends, just for laughs. Originally intended as an inside joke, I posted the first three strips on a Finnish cannabis forum. It was never meant to be a continuing series, but encouraged by the reception, I drew three more strips... And to my amazement, I was contacted by a publisher! This great dude from the city of Manse, Nääsville said that he would like to publish the comic as an album, if only I would draw enough strips for a complete book. So we began our collaboration, and basically wrote the series together. We are still working together to this day.

I drew the series for three years, and when I finally held the printed album in my hands in 2011, that was that. I quit, and used the money to fly to distant lands...

...and when I returned to Finland, it was time to quit that kind of life. I soon moved away from Suomenchikago, shedding a single THC-filled tear for all the good people I left behind. That was five years ago.

We often talked with my publisher about translating Kyhäritie into English, but never had the incentive to go through with it... until Steemit arrived and captured my imagination. Fascinated by its innovation, I got the urge to produce content and observe from ground zero, how the platform develops and deals with its many challenges. Bake Break was born, and we will continue translating new strips semi-daily. This webcomic will be my final love letter to the cannabis culture of Finland. It's my way of saying thanks and goodbye.

I wish to clarify that my intention is not to advocate the use for cannabis, nor to judge it. It's all cool, man! I'm here just to laugh at all the world.

I'd love to see more webcomic artists discovering Steemit, and giving it a shot. I'd be happy to read more #comics on this platform.

To prove my authorship, here's a link to a post on the official Facebook page of Kyhäritie, linking back to our Steemit blog. Also, this:

We will continue the translation, until the full album is published for free. So jump to the index to start reading, and have fun on Steemit!

Sort:  

Wow! This is some amazing content! Good bye reddit - I did not realize how bad reddit has become until I see what steemit has given us.

Thank you for delivering great content, I'm so pleased that I can help to reward it and increase its exposure to the world! Forget the money - the freedom of speech here is worth more !!!!!

would love to see a webcomic developed on steemit

Cool this is the kind of content we need

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55706.37
ETH 2969.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24