Still worth to give?

in #helping6 years ago

GiveHands-iStock-Blog-1280x620-1280x620.jpg

Photo grabbed from Vancity blog.

For the past few weeks I usually got out from work around 11am. Aside from the heat what I've noticed around this time are the children beggars.

If before they just extend their hands and ask money for food now they have this little paper stating why they are begging.
37740305_10212124750780346_661964656289513472_n.jpg

According to some this has been a common sight after what happened in Marawi. Since life there was difficult some of the locals flee to other places to start life anew.

Some of them are here in Lapu-Lapu and since they could not speak bisaya they wrote the reason of their begging.

I always believe It is better to give than to receive. It is better to help than ask for help. In this sense that I usually gave any amount I can whenever possible. Who would not took pity on them when after they've been through. We can always see in the news what Marawi looks like now.

However it came to a point when you already doubt the intention. I know it is bad to judge but some things made me realize. One time when I gave biscuit instead of cash the boy made a "disappointed face" and walked away without saying anything. Two, my cousin saw some of the children gambling at the side streets.

That's why sometimes I think or observe first if they are worth to be helped. I just pray that those who are giving are giving to the right persons.

Any thoughts on this?

Always and keep steeming,

Madz

P.S. Please support my witness @surpassinggoogle who I heard good stories about especially from @shikika, the one who introduced me to the flatform. And hopefully I'd meet and witness myself his dedication to help every steemians.

To vote visit,
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Type "steemgigs" as a witness in the search box.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61952.36
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64