Support/Helpdesk

in #helpdesk7 years ago

Support Frustration


The problem I have with most support or helpdesks is that they are stuck going through their checklists and either don't listen or read the email that was sent to them! Very, very annoying. It is one reason why I never phone up support these day's. It also means everything is in writing if I need to escalate the matter, which does happen.



I have been on the other side and have been everything from level 1 support (therefore I do understand the most callers need "basic" help.) to the person that is called when nothing else has worked.

One of the things I learnt while doing IT for a living is that sometimes you get a user that knows the issue and is at step 10 in the process. So listening and hearing what they say can make things a lot faster and simpler.

I am currently going through this "not listening" with support for the solar panel installation. They have yet to grasp that I require the IP address and probably port number before their gateway will be able to talk to their server. I do have a dedicated hardware firewall between the modem and router. Let's see what the new "technician" has to say after he has diagnosed the solar panel issue.

Sort:  

Good luck with sorting all that out! It sounds like their sales team are better than the support staff lol...

Something like that.

yup...exactly.
Most HelpDesks...are no help.
when it's done by a bot.
even less so.

Or when done by someone whose first language isn't the same as yours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78