Few Issues with SteemIt/Recommendations/Questions for Community

in #help7 years ago

I love the SteemIt community but a few problems I see on SteemIt are for one to do with the delegation of power and how so many original post(s) with good content can go unnoticed or unviewed and then one crappy picture or funny meme or repost of something found online can earn a bunch of money because someone has a lot of followers? I'm not sure if a lot of this is due to a user using multiple accounts and upping themselves to gain notoriety quicker in the early stages of starting their account(s) or being here in the community earlier or what the answer is? Perhaps buying upvotes is the way to go? Surely not everyone who has a tons of followers is actually releasing great content consistently. However, a lot of them are with that being said but regardless there is still a problem here on SteemIt and I think it can be very discouraging to new users as a result.

Another thing I think is rough is the organization of the site and perhaps the need to have multiple accounts to run something more personal vs a business or niche specific so perhaps the right idea would be to allow for you to control multiple pages under your same account? It would also be nice to be able to collaborate on certain topics with others like a lot of blogs already work. I.E. a music blog that allows 5-10 different people to post to it regarding different genres of music.

I think one of the biggest issues with SteemIt is that there really isn't an easy way to browse content. You essentially can view what's new out of the folks you follow or check out trending, new, hot or promoted or just do a good old search. There needs to be better organization to the overall site and an ability to bookmark posts internally to your account verses having to clutter FireFox or Chrome with tons of bookmarks to a folder.

Allowing one account to create multiple blogs/control them all from the same account would be great along with the idea of being able to share access to said blog with others for guest posts or just collaborate projects on niche topics.
Just my 2c since I've been here with what I've seen let me know what you all think?
DSC_0102crop4web.jpg

Sort:  

I don't have all the answers, but I'll share a few tips taken from my experience here:

-Remember, Steemit is in beta, it has to walk first before it can run.
-Keep posting high quality content. Participating in contests and challenges are a good way to gain exposure if you aren't sure what to post about.
-There are many, many apps/tools you can use to customize your Steemit experience. Steemtools and busy.org are two directions you might take if you are interested.

Hopefully these tips help you in some way. Steem on @zacherybinx! ☺

Thanks for the advice @enternamehere I guess in terms of Beta, I understand that but I've been here a while now (like 6 months) and it continues to be in "Beta" with little to no improvements or updates on when it may come out of Beta so that seems like a bit of a cop out. Seems like there's just more and more chaos so it's not appearing to be headed in the right direction imo. I'll definitely check out the apps/tools you linked so thank you very much for that advice.

I understand that but I've been here a while now (like 6 months) and it continues to be in "Beta" with little to no improvements or updates on when it may come out of Beta

Yes, I can agree with you there. In some regards steemit's future seems uncertain - it certainly has a LOT of room to grow. However, blockchain and cryptocurrency are still very new concepts to a lot of folks, so I think there are still many, many wrinkles to be ironed out before platforms like steemit and d-tube are as mainstream as the current social media giants are.

Steemit is a fun alternative to TV and an easy way to meet all kinds of people from across the world. I've been here for more than 12 months, and I have taken my share of "time off". I know some people use their accounts as a source of livable income, personally I am not yet one of them.

Glad to pass on some useful info, hope to see you around in the future ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77