How to be a good Steemit curatorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #help8 years ago (edited)

I'm not going to be giving a tutorial as much as opening a discussion here. Correct me where I'm wrong, and add additional info if you can, please!

  • Play nice on other people's blogs. This is not so much a matter of etiquette ( and see The Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide (Revision 2.0) for a good dose on that subject), as it is a matter of good curating. You aren't doing anybody any good by engaging in troll wars or spending all day in a back-and-forth with someone that has both different assumptions and different views of the facts than you do.
    One of the points of Steemit is to add value to the community as a whole; this in turn makes your own Steemit investment more valuable.
    And DON'T forget the value of etiquette in itself!
    And before anyone points this out to me, yes, I have ignored this sensible action once or twice myself ;>
  • Add value. Let me repeat, add value. Back the OP up with a fact, provide a complementary link, continue the discussion. At the least, if you are just going to say "good post", mention a specific part of the blog that was good. Creators love hearing that someone actually READ their work, instead of wondering if somebody just made a penny by upvoting and leaving a cut-and-pasted "I loved it!"
  • This may be counter intuitive, but curate the things that interest you. If you are just checking votes in the Trending category, you aren't really adding value to the platform; if all you have done is to add a few more cents to Steemit, you aren't really adding value. The value in pennies is always going to rise, one way or another, but a site full of upvoted crap will not pull in new creators, or retain readers. By curating content that interests YOU, you have the opportunity to reward quality content and to add value to that content with your own knowledgeable comments.
  • Always upvote @stevescoins. Really ;> Even when I am an ass ;>
  • Remember that it's hard to be a creator AND a curator, but that as a creator you should try to curate as well. If we all just post our own creation and never check out the work of others, then none of us will benefit. This is the thing I have the hardest time achieving myself. I tend to zone out for a while after completing a post.
  • I don't see anything wrong with resteeming good content; in fact the only reason that I don't resteem more is a selfish desire to see mainly my own work on my blog. If you aren't creating your own stuff, please resteem those posts you enjoy the most. I can't qualify this, but a resteem is more valuable than an upvote for minnow curators.
  • Make the effort to look for new Steemers, especially for those working in your area of interest. New contribuors are just as much as an investment to the platform as posts are.

That's all I can think of, but I'm sure we can add quite a few more!

Sort:  

Thanks for the post, I’m new here at Steem and I was confused what being a curator actually was. Being a content producer I will certainly now find time to engage in topics I’m interested in, thank you for the clarification :)

no prob ;)

The payout system is complicated itself (Steem, Steem Power, Steam Dollars), and add this site (Steemit), which is just a front-end platform to reach the payout system, and there is a pretty bi learning curve. Add to that fact that we are still in beta, and it's hard to learn.

just keep jumping in and continue to learn by doing ;)

Though Im just new on steemit, through your post, Ive learned how to become an effective curator. Ive read also the one who wrote "how I become a top ten curator". I think combining all stuffs that Ive read from you will help me a lot in curating and IMG_8434.JPGcommenting.

I'm glad you found the info helpful!

Welcome to Steemit!

You know I go back here again, ha,ha,ha and read again your post. I try to remember every detail its because I want to become a good curator. A good critic.
IMG_8463.JPG

Good post. I'm on Steemit/Dtube/Dsound mostly as a creator but a beginner on how this thing works. Today i searched on this "curator" subject to see what this really is. Your post explains it very well. I have to be more active on other people's works as well. Thanks.

you're welcome!

and don't feel obligated to curate a lot, either. cration can be hard and draining.

otoh, maybe take some time devoted to curation once in a while, too!

Yeah. You're right.

Thank you Steve for giving an overview "how you can be a good curator".
I joined today steemit.com and there are a lot of things to read and learn, but you helped me out about the curator thing.
It might take some days or weeks, but I will keep up to learn about steemit.com
Thanks, that you try to help newbies on steemit.com. (like me)
Like you said, the most important points are

  • Do not be selfish
  • honor others work
  • contribute to the community

Hilarious looking up curating, just noticed its your post.

Great advice. I read all the posts I upvote and I read and search for things that matter to me. I love this platform and I'm learning things (too slowly for me, I like to know everything). I actually and just learning what being a curator was by googling it and finding this post. So THANKS for your time on this!

Thats what I did also. Actually this is my second time going here just to read the post again. I've learned.
IMG_8442.JPG

Hi, I am such a minnow lol, so your title caught my eye, because I want to help others and learn. I am newer to all this Crypto stuff, -- you could say it is still cryptic to me I guess (:

Personally I am not doing so well on here and I put a lot of work into my content and it is hit and miss trying to figure out why some other people do so well but I am trying.

When you said this: "If you aren't creating your own stuff, please resteem those posts you enjoy the most. I can't qualify this, but a resteem is more valuable than an upvote for minnow curators. "

  • that caught me also because I spend a lot of time resteeming and upvoting what I think is good content.

I guess I am not getting much support by people who have a higher rep. score on here also, like you are - ahh, the elusive 60 club lol.

Thanks for writing this, obv. it is RS and UV for you. Have a good day. BD

A good idea that was given to me by @etcmike was to use "minnowsunite" and "steemsquad" as tags on your content as well. Not sure how much it has helped me, but also I did haave a story I wrote resteemed and that did help me out a lot, yet I still recievec more votes on another article with less pay than the one which had been resteemed. Don't give up, just have fun, and keep steeming on.

I work hard on my content and resteem a ton of stuff to help spread content. Nobody really reblogs any of my content..... I know it helps them, because I reblog OTHERS who reblog stuff! Good tips and TY for the input. I have seen those #'s online. So much to learn sigh. lol

True so much to learn, I was never into social media until I found SteemIt about 1 week ago. So I'm also learning, I joined because of the fact I get paid for my time spent as well as my work. But like you there is so much to learn, most of my posts are about $0.07 or less, 1 actually made it to $26 - curation I got just over $19 so I am still learning as well.

But Good Luck I followed you and hope that I can help UpVote your posts as well now.

I really appreciate that. I have followed you too, so thank you also for the help and encouragement

Hey Barry,

Thanks for the comment. Don't give up on hope either, just keep chugging away.

I have never understood why some of my posts took off, and others didn't either. I think part of that is just timing. If you post when the folks are on that would upvote you, then you have a upvoted post, and if you miss that time slot, you have an unloved post. Remember that Steemit is a now phenomenon; that post is either trending, or it's new, or it's forgotten.

I will say one thing, it was hard for me to see your original work, b/c you are resteeming a lot. There is nothing wrong with that, but as I said for myself, I try to keep more of my own posts visible when my blog opens than the resteems.

Remember that the resteem is more valuable to the creator, not to the resteemer, UNLESS you upvote it and you resteem leads to a lot more upvotes that raise the payout on your upvote...yeah, it's complicated!

Anyway, keep up heart, and even if Steemt fails, you have a body of work to draw on; you should be copies of everything you post!

ah, and one more thing. I've got about 4 posts in for every one of yours ...each one of those posts (which does include comments) is a chance at another upvote.

Someone wrote a good post about your actions on Steemit representing a lottery; each time you comment or post, you have a chance to win a payout, so the more you participate, the better your chances of "winning".

Now I need to dig that up and provide that link and give credit where it is due.

I am listening and trying, thanks for the feedback.

I forgot to mention, I think your title is great but you may want to correct the spelling mistake there.

I blame the french fries for making my fingers fat

Interesting post. In the end i think it comes down to peserverance, don't give up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69406.62
ETH 3942.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61