You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Guidance] : To comment or not to comment?

in #help6 years ago

Finally saw the updated post and some time to comment! This guide is a great tool for improving writing - no matter what your end-game is. We all like the SBD/Steem, but we are here for much more.

I started writing poetry on Tumblr, and it took me a while to realise that through reading, I could learn other ways to shift my poetry. Different writing styles, new vocabulary - it was rich of ideas. Apart from that, I joined some other communities where people gave me feedback, and I could learn from my mistakes. I could also criticise others and that way I helped learn what I did not like about my poetry.

Commenting is helpful throughout, as you said. And if you try to comment for upvotes, we all know that a "good job, wonderful post" won't get you an upvote, nor a follow. You're only wasting bandwidth and time. Better to leave one meaningful comment than 10 spammy ones. Trust me. I've made some great friends! And by friends, I don't mean just people who will upvote and comment on my posts, but also those that talk to me on Discord and care about my personal life.

@calumam you are a great person and I am glad that I have come across you and other wonderful steemians at the @buddyup group <3

Sort:  

I'm glad you appreciate the post, I really wanted to hit home about what it means to leave a genuine response. I think it gets lost with some people.

Your poetry is amazing and I can tell you've had a lot of feedback over time with it. It's polished, free-flowing and meaningful. That takes time and constant improvement to achieve. I'm grateful that you leave me feedback and help me to edit my posts (if you're reading, @poetrybyjeremy helped me edit this straight after it was posted too).

At this moment in time, I rarely upvote comments because I don't have a slider handy. I think I will do it more when I get to 500SP but right now it's usually saved for very good comments. I appreciate all feedback and I usually leave a genuine reply to respond instead of the vote right now. The people I know appreciate that more.

Thank you very much pal! It's great to have you in the community :)

It's my pleasure to be helpful and honest. I truly appreciate the connection that I build and our earlier conversation. A huge thank you for that. As for the slider, I understand the issue. Usually, I tend to go onto busy.org (set up Gina to send me to busy.org in fact) so that I can vote slightly on comments if my VP is looking nice or the comment is truly worth.

And I'm honoured that you look for my editing and do edit the post according to my feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54