Calling on Steemit to change one person's life

in #help7 years ago

I have had this idea rattling around my head for a long time, but specific current events have pushed me to write this article.

Why haven't I done this earlier?

I have issues with asking for help, and although the help is not for me, I am afraid it might in any way seem scammy, especially as regular readers will know my financial circumstances are not fantastic. 

What inspired me?

Last night @karenb54 wrote a blog post about how she would like to use some of her SBD to help those in need. I told her my story and she immediately donated 5 SBD!!! To say I was stunned would be an understatement. Secondly, this morning I happened upon this article by @dana-edwards https://steemit.com/life/@dana-edwards/on-steemit-you-can-make-usd5-a-day-just-blogging-for-fun I have a small shop and employ 5 staff members. Their average salary is about $11 a day, so it becomes immediately clear what $5 a day could do for my staff members. They are also at least fortunate to have work as a large swathe of South Africans are unemployed.

Why do I want to change this person's life?

Meet Lucky Dube

After being in business for over 20 years, I've seen a lot of staff members come and go. I've been blessed, with a few very bad exceptions, of having loyal staff members. Lucky has worked for me for about 7 years, and all the others for much longer. Lucky though, has the most unfailing positive attitude. I have never seen him moody and though he doesn't share much about his home life (he is extremely shy) I know things are not easy for him. A while ago, in a rare moment of sharing, he told me that my husband and I were the only people who ever believed in him, as his family didn't. Lucky is also one of those employees who uses his initiative, and often anticipates my needs. To be honest, he has made another of my staff members redundant, as he does more than enough work for two. (Although due to labour laws I cannot retrench the other employee.) Most importantly, we run a cash based business and I trust only him. He is so self-effacing that he is not perceived as a threat by the other staff members (despite my obvious fondness for him), and is extremely well-liked. My customers especially love him, and often tip him, which I am happy about. Some of my regular customers even ask him to do work for them after hours. He also wraps all the parcels for the goods I sell online and does such a good job that the quality of the packaging is regularly mentioned in my positive ratings.

Why I can't help him?

I honestly don't have the money. I struggle to keep all my staff employed as it is. I am not complaining, it is just the way it is. I have some huge debts hanging like the sword of damocles over my head. But those are my issues and I am coping with it. The price of Steem has encouraged me more than anything else though. Powering down would help me now, but I really believe in this platform and suspect one day it might change my life too. But Lucky can be helped now!!!

What do I want for him?

I would love to offer him the opportunity of bettering his circumstances by blogging on Steemit. His English is not good, but I told him I will help him. I feel he would have a unique perspective to offer Steemit about the lifestyle of the majority of South Africans. 

What does Lucky need?

I think probably a smartphone with a decent camera, as photo blogging would be best for him. He will also need data, which is very expensive in South Africa. I think 3 gigs a month will work and that will cost $22 monthly, though he should be able to pay for it out of his proceeds after a little while. Lucky spoke to me this morning and said he was thinking of buying a phone on account. But I would hate to see him get into debt, especially if it takes him a while to gain momentum on Steemit.


For me personally I have no desire to be rich. I would like to be stress free (as much as we can) and being debt free will help with that. When my debts have been cleared I would love to devote my life to helping those who feel desperate, as I know how it feels. However I don't want Lucky to wait that long before he gets an opportunity like this, that is why I am asking for help from the Steemit community to get him started.

                     

Lucky, in the throes of mega-packing at the shop! When he is done for the day he cleans everything up beautifully.

All SBD earned from this article will go to Lucky's phone and data account. There will also be full accountability for all money used. Receipts, etc.

Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree


Sort:  

Great Initiative @onetree

I'm now following you and i will gladly resteem this post to encourage momentum to support Lucky!

Thanks for taking the time to share what was rattling around within you. Talking is really the best way for ourselves to work things into viable solutions. It's fascinating the possibilities that can emerge out of taking the first step...making the first move in and as a decision to direct the situation. It can seem daunting to Let Go and go for it....I am glad you did.

I was visiting south africa in late 2016 and it's totally unacceptable that any-one of our fellow brothers and sisters have such deplorable living conditions.

STEEMIT is World Changing. Dare I say the Equal Money System, The Gateway for a planetary revival and Rejuvenation of our Earth to a status more appropriately tagged 'Heaven on Earth'...aka: PlaygroundPlanetEarth

Best Regards Always All Ways

STEEM ON

:)

Thank you for the encouragement, it means a lot to me, as I was unsure if I should do it. The gap between rich and poor is unacceptable, and hopefully we the people are moving in the right direction, our own direction. Following you too now :)

@onetree
100% Agreement

A fellow south African made this video some years ago forecasting the possibility of New Platform that could be a gateway to a better world for everyone.

STEEMIT is a new Social Idea that is Best for Everyone :)

Take my upvote! What a wonderful idea to help those in need. I wish all the best for Lucky Dube. GET HIM ON STEEMIT!

Thank you! I am making a plan to register him today. My 12 year old son has kindly lent him his phone to see how it goes and how he likes it, before he makes the commitment to buy a phone. I am buying him data with the money raised so far.

People would be really interested in his story. No money, no phone. A job and a boss that's happy with his work performance.

I'll wait eagerly for his introduceyourself post because it's rare to witness something like this.

I will resteem it and tag you in the replies. I am more than happy with his work performance!

I don't think you should worry about sounding scammy, you do not, you sound like a kind soul trying to do good for another kind soul. I've liked and resteemed this post, I hope it helps. I'm trying to transfer a few SBD but don't know what memo to use?

Oh thank you! That means a lot to me. If you would like to do a transfer, use the memo "Lucky" Very much appreciated!

Done :)

Thanks so much @daisyd!!! So kind 😀

Great idea I hope people donate. I am writing a post I will add your link to it to get more traffic, hopefully some will help. :) thank you for the mention

Thank you @karenb54 that would be awesome! And oh my!!! I just noticed the other 5SBD now. Thank you so much, I already told Lucky that I have it for him.

Its up. Hope it helps :)

Cool, will take a look now!

Beautiful story and i wish you luck on your journey. I wish you all the success.

Thank you :)

Beautiful gesture and story ❤️💫

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18