Is there a noticeable difference between Intel 6th and 7th Generation processor chips?

in #help8 years ago (edited)

Non-tech guy here.

I'm looking to buy a new laptop. I've narrowed it down to a couple and the only difference is one is a 6th generation i7 while the other is a 7th generation i7.

So my question is...

Will I notice a difference between the two processors? Is the 6th generation sufficient?

Note - I don't game. I surf the web, edit Go Pro videos, watch the occassional movie, work on my websites (shopify and wordpress). I'd reckon that the Go Pro editing is the most intensive thing I do on my PC.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Great question, finally I can put 15 years of building and fixing PCs and laptops to use. You won't notice any real difference for a good year up to three years. Its only after a year or two you really notice the extra money you spend on parts. It will really depend on the demands of the web content you are viewing and we have no way of knowing what those will be in the future.....

Not really, ceteris paribus it's a bit faster, a bit more power efficient, but overall an "optimization" (as Intel calls it) of 6th Gen. 6th gen had some driver issues early on but those are fixed now too. If you're getting a better deal on the 6th gen, you can safely go for that.

You can compare the different CPU right here:

http://m.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

Or here:

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/39

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 60995.33
ETH 3364.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52