You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Guidance] : Look your weakness in the eye

in #help6 years ago (edited)

I always liked to do a mental exercise, trying to express the same sentence by using different words, while paying attention to the nuances, the subtle differences of the words. I looked for potent words that had the ability to deliver the punch, to make the desired impact.
Later on, when I learnt other languages, I adapted my little game. I tried to see how can I convey the same message in a foreign language.
For each language I learnt, I continued to find new ways of expressing the same thing. That's how I ended up having five thoughts in the back of my mind while I was talking. My brain got used to translating from one language to another with such an ease that I was able to translate in real time, become an interpret.
This little game not only helped expand my vocabulary, but it enabled me to become fluent much faster in another language.

Sort:  

This is an extremely valuable comment and it's something I'm going to try out myself.

I can see the link with learning new languages faster and it's amazing how the little exercises transferred into the ability to interpret successfully. You are a very interesting person indeed, after our chats yesterday I've got a little inkling that you have a brain that I need to pick for more knowledge!

Thanks for dropping by with this @lymepoet, I appreciate it massively.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39