You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Guidance] : To comment or not to comment?

in #help6 years ago

Whenever I get comment which is less than 10 words on any of my posts, I am tempted not to answer. Like you stated earlier, my first instinct is to think that it is not worth my attention or time. Then I remind myself that I am always pressed and I imagine everyone else is. That's why I and end up writing back to the person who left me a "spammy" comment, thanking them for taking the time to do even those 10 words.
That's probably because on Steemit you get more than the FB like button. ;-)
Some users understand faster the importance of networking (they get involved in the Discord channels and groups and make real friends), while others try to only get up voted. Sooner or later they reach the conclusion they have wasted time and burnt some bridges.

I agree that one should not make a comment without actually having read the article. I have seen some lengthy comments that had nothing to do with the post itself. Either the person did not understand what the topic was all about or did not read everything.
Both ways it looked bad on him!

Sort:  

You have a good point and it's totally right, sometimes the time element comes into it a lot. I don't mind smaller comments when they are sincere, just like @dawnsheree said above. I just feel as though leaving a comment on shorter comments all the time just encourages that type of comment, but that's just my opinion.

I feel as though it's better to leave it until you do have time and come back and say something about it then if you need to. It would be great if leaving an upvote, of any percentage, was seen as an expression of true gratitude and not laziness.

You're correct, if you aren't reading the post, don't be wasting our time ;) The platform helps you get better at reading, if you aren't reading you're missing out big time. Interaction with others is great but it doesn't mean jack-shit if you can't read and understand what they're saying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54