Help Wanted - What Happened To The OpenMic Tag?

in #help7 years ago (edited)

I have a question that someone may be able to answer. I'm @luzcypher and joined Steemit on August 31st and have been running a contest with sponsorship from @pfunk.

This is the 30th week the contest has been running and the community seems to like it. It's basically a venue that singers and musicians can play and sing a song for Steemit, get some upvotes for their performance and win some Steem for playing.

steemians-support-open-mic.png

The first 12 weeks or so the tag openmic was climbing up the popular tags list on the main page of Steemit and I could see the total Posts, Comments, and Payout which I would post when I announce the winners like this.

openmic tag.png

A few months ago it dropped off of the Trending Tags List entirely and does not exist anymore at all. I also notice that the originalmusic tag disappeared at the same time and both of those tags are as popular as ever.

There are other tags that hardly have any activity and they are still there. Open Mic is active and ongoing and the tag is beibg used all the time but it has disappeared. Just wondering if it's a glitch and can it be fixed.

openmic tag gone.png

Does anyone know why it is not on the list anymore?
Does anyone know how to fix it?

I like to show it so people see the value Open Mic is adding to the community but it's gone.

Any ideas?

Thanks

P.S. - Some people are using the openmic tag without entering the contest. Just FYI the openmic tag is for entering the Open Mic contest.


luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

Upvotes for music will be big. It offers artist a chance to make money for content we should make something bigger then "openmic" its slightly corny we should pass it off as "steem radio"

People are using the openmic tag incorrectly. That tag is only for people who enter the Open Mic contest
I have explained that to people but they keep using it anyway even when they have not entered the contest.

sorry, I did that on a post. I tried editing it and it didnt work :/

The first tag cannot be changed once it is posted. The 2-5th can though. Just the first one is uneditable.

I also noticed this with #originalmusic when I was admiring all the fancy new icons and stuff (which I completely love and just posted about), but yes...I did notice a number of other tags I've seen used regularly disappear. I was looking for one in particular related to my post, and I always go to "Explore," which is now "Trending Tags," (another feature I like as far as semantics are concerned), but I was concerned to see the tags we have worked so hard to manifest are gone now. I'm also interested if any information on this surfaces.

Edit: Edited my post to mention this post and linked to yours in the comments of mine. My post is here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jessamynorchard/i-m-loving-these-new-steemit-icons-and-menu-organization-on-my-iphone

I remember you started the originalmusic tag about the same time as I started openmic and they both disappeared around the same time along with other tags that started with the letter 'O'
For a while there were no tags that started with "O' but now some have returned.
If you hear anything please let me know.

i hope this gets sorted. huge support to you and open mic.

Were you commenting on their posts to let them know? When I first started users let me know I using the wrong tag via comment and I stopped.

I did but it does not seem to matter. It just keeps happening. It is no big deal.

I like the idea of a new tag like steem radio. Could call it. #SteeminghotOpenMic make it unique to you.

Openmic is unique to open mic contest. I don't know why people are using it even when they do not enter the contest. I started the unique tag when i started the contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77