HELP! Password Faux Pas - How Do I Fix This?

in #help6 years ago

I am doing lots of electronic/crypto housekeeping and one of the things I wanted to do was reset my Steemit master password. I had reset and saved it a couple times and had a few passwords lying around, which is a recipe for nothing good. I went in and clicked on the reset, generated a new password, copied that one to a safe place and then deleted all of the old ones so I would be clear about which one was the new one.

Unfortunately it was only after the other ones were safely deleted that I went to complete the process and was told that I didn't have master authority. Of course, being smart like I am I didn't leave my master as the saved password to keep logged in on my pc, BUT since it's been a few months since I've been here I completely forgot that I would have done that.

So- what do I do now? I have access to my funds and my posting but how can I get my master reset? Also- I know the proper answer is "its gone" but I also know that there is a way if you got sponsored in by Steemit ...

Please take pity on me.

Sort:  

Unfortunately to do password recovery you need to have previous master passwords. If you have your active key you can still do transfers and move your steem to a new account. If you don't I'm afraid there is not much to be done. Steemit can not even recover if you don't have the last master :/ You may need to start a new account in that case.

Hello there friend! Lol

Congratulations @kilbride! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26