Sort:  

Thanks drakos, I was just asking about this on my blog. Can't wait to read it. Followed, upvoted and resteemed.

All your answers are here. In particular the guide I mentioned in the beginning of this post.

great info thanks ive been wondering about this

Thanks for the protips @drakos! Just because this is a social media platform, doesn't mean that we can just message someone for password recovery. Our private keys should have the same respect as our regular BTC or other cryptocurrency wallets. Someone gets your private keys, kiss your account good bye. I really liked how you embrace redundancy when backing up your files. I have them on a text document on my computer and phone, but I'm about to write them down in my notebook, so I got the cold storage... just in case. Thank you again for the absolutely essential reminder!

@shello

That's exactly what it is, it's like a bitcoin wallet. Personaly, I have all my keys (public and private) backed up on an encrypted partition on my computer, and on two USB sticks stored at different locations.

Holy cow. You really can't screw around on security. I up voted for those brilliant examples. Keep the fire comin' you ol pirate!~

This article, as well as the other one mentioned are like water in the desert for newbies like me. I really appreciate the time and effort you've put into this, drakos. I'll be re-reading both until I finally understand all the little nuances of the differing "keys". Thanks!

That's why it's important to resteem such content so people can learn more. We can never write enough posts about security, especially that the community is growing every day.

Many, many non computer literate users don't understand the value/importance/significanc of these keys, even if they read the FAQs.

Resteemed.

Congratulations @drakos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks again drakos, great guy truly :)

Peace.

I wish I had seen this sooner; but it's not a problem..
You really don't go into detail with Streemian.
It asks for an Active key, and seems it's not ever being transmitted over the network; just used to create needed access for posting?
I don't see why it needs more than a Posting key..
If you have a separate post on this subject, please post a link in reply. I've seen others comment on this, but you seem to be an authority so thought I'd ask. thx.

Do you use Streemian? First time in Aug I tried it, seemed like it might not be working correctly, and I assumed authors were on vacation, Euro style, so I never tried it again.

I stopped using Streemian long time ago, and changed my keys set after that. Wasn't comfortable using my active key there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64