Steemit expectations after week one

in #help8 years ago

I read the whitepage today after being signed up a week. I want to share what I have gleaned in an attempt to help people new to steemit.

Reading the whitepages informed me that my post about steemit being awesome and posting a picture of my cat won't get me $10,000. Shitty I know, he's a handsome cat!

(That's totally not my cat)
Now here is why it won't happen.

STEEMIT ISN'T FACEBOOK.... yet anyway

It will be, in fact the only thing really standing in its way is the ability to add friends and edit the feed when you first log in. That won't take long to change with the people already working on this. It's hard to say there is no value in a Facebook style format seeing what they're currently worth, however the Reddit model holds more value at the moment largely due to the visibility it will grant as a result of searches.

So, this is a rookie opinion. I am sure it could be torn apart, and I invite you to do just that... In comments please. My most successful post, defined as highest revenue generated, was one posted in response to another. It was the one post I didn't think about, just went with what I felt was a contrary stance and attempted to validate it. That paragraph earned more revenue generated than any other post I driveled out. They were posts without thought to content, or development of the same. Truthfully if I look at it how much is my half ass attempt really worth? I would have to say the $.58 I received.

Closing comments as I finish. I wrote and edited this entirely on my phone. As a result it is scattered in content and I didn't really proofread before hitting that submit button. Future content I will not do the same as the community deserves my effort, and it's reasonable to expect the same from us all. That said, it's the last day of my vacation, deal with it.

Sort:  

STEEMIT ISN'T FACEBOOK.... yet anyway Very well said

You may not get 10000 but you can get 1$ 10000 times

Yep..... 100% content has value and nothing wrong with repeated attempts at getting it right and waiting for the right time

Yeah isn't that the truth though you'll work your butt off for 8 hours on a post that earns .08 cents then you take 1 minute to leave a comment and you get an unexpected $50 bucks for something you didn't expect anything out of funny how that works.

It's unfortunate that happens. But it's not what happened to me. I can say honestly that although I had good ideas for posts. I didn't take the time to really develop and put it down. Thanks though!

It's always great to read shared thoughts on this subject and look, you're already up to $4.41 and 27 votes so far just on this one. Nice...........I'm jealous.
upvote for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35