Mars Returns...

in #hello20186 years ago

Happy New Year, and hello I’m back online!

Oh what a turbulent few months it has been. I can hardly believe that I’m here in January 2018 - though with some more upcoming big events and changes in my life, I’m sure that too shall quickly dissipate.

Today I wanted to start by informing you all of a few mini projects I am formatting and planning now:

“Mars Watches” posts, where I intend to share my observations, sketches, and any other opinions on the entertainment I consume. Whether this grows into full, intersectional and dissecting reviews will have to be seen, and I look forward to feedback in this endeavour!
*as I also watch a lot of anime, and am currently into many current seasons, I’m torn about whether these should be in their own separate post type, but for the beginning I will keep them together

“Mars Makes” here I’m looking forward to sharing all my creations and attempts at learning me skills in all forms of hand-crafting I dabble in. Should I share digital pieces this way? I do so few of them, though I am hoping to commit to a certain number of completed projects every month, that I hesitate to even worry about this now...

And finally, “Mars Feels/Today” where I’m leaving myself open to sharing new discoveries or passions or learns, and where I hope to keep miscellaneous personal blogs or rants confined hahaha

Now, why I am sharing this is because I need help to keep accountable. This isn’t me expecting or asking any individual in particular to take this mantle - rather that I feel by putting these words out here as opposed to just mental notes in my head, I’ll actually be able to act on and actualize my goals, and build more motivation to produce as much as my mind is able to!

So, what’s changed for Mars since the last time we were here?

Well, the last couple years have seen my physical and mental health take serious hits, and have been the focus of my efforts and concerns. Though my conditions have not (and some will not) fully alleviated, there are procedures on the horizon and overall improvement enough to allow me a path I thought I’d never tread!

I’m going (back) to school! Specifically I’ve applied for and already started making connections in the field I’m so excited to be entering: Funeral Direction.

Ten years ago, when I first had an opportunity to go to college, I passed up on this route, not believing myself to be capable or truly able to fit - anxiety,depression, and family pressures all outweighed my curiosity and my then way-underdeveloped intuition, and I chose something that would get me into a creative workforce fastest. A year and motor vehicle accident later, that direction was closed and I fell into a comfortable enough retail position with a fast paced crazy environment I am still part of 8 years later. I never thought I’d want to leave this place after I settled in (by year 2); I never thought I COULD do anything else. I’d resigned myself to a place of complacency and no ambition. How fitting, that events again involving my health so drastically have lead me to come back to this decision.
As challenging and devastating as some of this last while has been, I’m grateful that it allowed me to dust off my own self reflection and see the value there, of the person I want to be and am. There for others, doing what is within my means, improving the industry with the relevant knowledge and experiences I’ve gained (something in the past I could never admit to and have only just come to accept about myself), a dream I’ve been having all my life, finally made clear. And that’s what this really feels like, clarity.

And so this is the wish I hope to leave you all with, that this year bring you the clarity you need to move forwards, onwards, and for the better.

Continuing orbit,

Mars

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56400.87
ETH 2980.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19