You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So I finally made it to steemit

in #hello7 years ago

I think that " theoretically " the same things you hope to accomplish with restrictions, could be accomplished by the free market, voluntarily. The only problem is that the government created and partially subsidized corperations have a massively disproportionate amount of wealth and resources to compete with currently (walmart,amazon). I think decentralized eccommerce and people leaving the usd, could eventually correct that. I definitely don't see it happening overnight though. As far as representatives, i think block chain is the exact science of representation and could replace those people if properly implemented. Structure is definitely a necissary part of civilization. No doubt.

Sort:  

Interesting, so if I'm reading between the lines here, using a blockchain to implement secure verification and transactions to institute a direct democracy? That is actually something I could really get behind. If I'm off-base, please elaborate.

As far as the free market, I feel it's a solution that would ultimately result in a greater shift of power to existing corporations. Without minimum wage, why should I believe that the largest hiring companies won't continually hire cheaper labor as they eliminate the competition that might hire at better rates?

That said, I think this stems from the human desire to make purchases for as cheap as possible. If you could curb the penny-pinching aspect of our culture, perhaps not impossible, then I could see the free market working. As it stands, people are too short-sighted to see the harm that can be brought by buying the cheapest option they can find, empowering corporations to cut corners and underpay workers and suppliers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63441.26
ETH 2477.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64